My First Tiny Home - a 1988 School Bus

in #outdoors7 years ago

Almost ten years ago, I bought a school bus to convert to a recreational vehicle.

I was tired of camping on the ground in a tent, and wanted an upgrade. I found this 1988 Chevy at a school bus dealership in Waterloo, Iowa. It was a trade-in, with around 145,000 miles. It has an 8.2 liter (500 cubic inch) Detroit Diesel, which, according to my research, is a very well-built engine that will run forever if maintained properly. It has an Allison five-speed manual transmission and is a lot of fun to drive. I offered $1,400, and drove it two hours home that day.

The conversion process took almost two years, and I have dozens of photos. But I will share only a handful of them in order to avoid making this post too long.

I began by removing all of the seats, which I either sold cheap or kept for other uses.

With the seats gone, I had an open shell to work with. My imagination went wild.

Since it was July when I began the project, I began by installing an air conditioner.

I decided which windows I wanted to keep. I removed the others and covered the hole with steel siding.

I began painting the exterior a redneck's favorite color - camouflage!

I trimmed out the windows and installed aluminum insect screen.

The original door went away, and was replaced by a storm door.

Then we masked off and painted the entire bus.

Once the outside was done and weather was growing chilly, I worked on the inside. I furred out the walls and added additional insulation.

I installed a tiny wood stove. I covered my insulated walls with aluminum foil to add a radiant heat barrier.

I put pine planks on all the walls and ceiling.

I built a kitchenette.

And a dinette booth for four people.

I made the interior cozy, with features like carpet, curtains, a built-in desk, a table lamp, and rustic home decor.

In the back of the bus I installed a futon, then built a bunk bed over it.

I had some custom upholstered cushions made to form sofas that also serve as beds.

Later, I added a rooftop deck where I could sit and observe my surroundings, ten feet off the ground.

I also added a roof vent for additional fresh air.

I named my bus Buscephus, after my favorite country music singer, Hank Williams Jr., or Bocephus.

We have had a lot of fun with Buscephus. I used to camp at least two weekends a month before we had children. Now I take it camping about twice a year. Every now and then, we still do fun things, like sit on the deck and watch the local fireworks show on the 4th of July. We even used it in our wedding in 2009 to shuttle from the church to the reception hall.

Otherwise, Buscephus sits in our driveway. I still start it up and drive it around, and change the oil when it is necessary. But the glory days of camping all around the midwest are over for the moment.

I have toiled with the idea of selling it to someone who would enjoy it, but I know my boys will love having it as they grow older. Only time will tell what I do with it. But it was a lot of fun designing and building. And the many nights camping with family, friends, and even just myself are memories I will never forget.

I consider it my first tiny home for two reasons. First, because a person could realistically sustain themselves in the bus if needed. I would have to remodel and add a small bathroom, but it wouldn't be that difficult. The second reason is because I love tiny homes, and it is my hope to build more of them in the future. God's plan for my life will eventually be revealed, and I will achieve my full potential.

Thanks for checking out my post!

Sort:  

Very well done my friend!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Buscephus made me lol

Great job, I have always wanted to do this.

It is a TON of fun! And some cursing and throwing things!

I feel like I would meet my entire year's cursing quota while building it. Haha

Greta job ! I love it ! Thanks for shareing 👍

When I was a little kid, we had a giant (ugly) bus-like vehicle we traveled in during summer roadtrips. It was known as "The Hunk of Junk" by us and probably most of the neighbors. Now I wish I had a picture of the stupid thing to prove yours is much better - very cool!

Did it look like Cousin Eddy's RV in National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation?

Lol, the color scheme, yes! It wasn't quite that far gone yet, but I assure you it was very unappealing to the eye.

That is some incredible craftsmanship. One of the best bus conversions I've seen. I think that it definitely counts as a tiny home. Thanks for sharing. Resteemed.

I appreciate that!

Cool conversion! Thanks for sharing the pics of the process.

You bet! Thanks for checking it out and replying!

What an amazing idea! Very impressive and a beautiful heirloom for your boys!

G R E A T !!! :D