You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day walk gear including great kilt and leg wraps

in #outdoors3 years ago

I love to see how well prepared you go to mountain hiking. And that's exactly what everyone that goes to the mountain should do, to avoid accidents and rescues.
I assume you're or you've been also in the Army, like myself.
Soldiers, we're always well prepared for everything 😌👍

Sort:  

I have never served in the army - but I do like military surplus gear because the cost is reasonable and the gear generally very tough. It's my responsibility to be prepared - although I have a PLB beacon to summon for help, one should not go out without the means to handle various emergency situations. PACE Primary, Alternative, Contingency, Emergency. Despite going out alone, I used more of my emergency gear with other people. People without enough water is quite common!

Military stuff is perfect for going well prepared everywhere.
I am glad to know that there are people like you who are well prepared.
Rescues are very expensive and sometimes it also costs rescuers their lives.
I know this because I was for 5 years in a military rescue unit in any environment.
Not long ago, two women who went out for a walk in the mountains without knowing that a cold wave was coming, died of cold.