Create a top quilt from a Swagman Advanced and a Woobie military poncho liner.

in #outdoors2 years ago

Although the Swagman Advanced from Helikon-Tex is an excellent piece of gear, it is often not quite enough to stay warm all by itself. While adding a Swagman basic can create a three-season top-quilt, that option might be too warm and too heavy. This article looks at how to tie in a standard military poncho liner (woobie) to create a warmer top quilt. Then, the result is lab tested.

PXL_20220320_013047094.MP~2.jpg
This is what the finished top-quilt looks like. A Marine MARPAT woobie inside a Camogrom (Multi-cam-alike) Swagman. However, any USGI sized woobie with tie-outs will work.

PXL_20220320_013356223.jpg
Step One: bunch up one end of the woobie so that the corner tie-outs are accessible. I prefer to fan-fold the end to give an even foot box. Then, use the corner ties to secure the foot box end. Although any knot will do, I usually loop one side but wrap the loop around twice for extra holding power.

PXL_20220320_013305410.jpg
Step Two: Create the foot box on the Swagman by zipping up to the bottom buckles and using the fasteners to encourage the zip to stay in place. Put the hood inside the Swagman (or the hood pocket).

PXL_20220320_013230507.jpg
Step Three: shove the woobie foot box into the swagman foot box. You can turn the woobie inside out on the knot for a roomier foot box. Ensure that the woobie has not twisted inside the Swagman and that the top corners are aligned.

PXL_20220320_013142457.jpg
Step Four: Tie the top corner tie-outs of the woobie to hardware on the matching corner of the Swagman. I tie the woobie to the Swagman's poncho toggles - though anywhere is fine. You might leave one corner untied to help with heat regulation, but I don't bother.

DONE!
You now have a swagman and woobie top-quilt. Now for some lab testing.

PXL_20220313_164408177.jpg
And here is Momo the LABrador testing the Swagman and Woobie top quilt combination. It does well to trap in her heat and hold off a steady cold breeze - at least for a dog who already wears a double-layered fur coat. She much prefers the top-quilt to sleeping on her own bed.

I'm working on a post comparing this sleep system with other options. Until next time.

Sort:  

Lab testing lol. She looks so comfy! I think I need to remember this for my cats, they would love that Woobie. Typical, my animals always do that too and seem to prefer everything else to their actual beds.

Yeah, such a princess. She operates under the "I was here first" rule. Once or twice she's woken me up and convinced me I needed to go check something... only to come back and find her sleeping here. Normally I reward her ingenuity and go sleep on the couch.

Hahaha I think I would probably do the same, clever girl! Once they get to know how they can get away with something like that, they don't forget it and will use it every opportunity they can. My kid does this too come to think of it 🤣

Hope you have a good day.

Very interesting

Where did you learn that?

shrugs not really much to make up. I've tied woobies together, sometimes up to three, to make a thicker winter blanket. The reason for sharing and reading about other's use of gear is to keep minds open to possibilities. I basically thinking about an idea I call vital creativity - where being open to possibilities can save your life.

Meant generally the things you post here. Thought maybe you were in the military or something 🤔

finally i learned something new today thanks for sharing happy eastern sunday.😉😉

Happy Easter.

That a pretty ingenuous system. Almost like origami, but with fabric.. something like that.. 😉

As long as the dog like it, right??

Layering clothing and sleeping gear gives a great amount of flexibility. Yes, the dog keeps displacing me if I sleep here.

displacing😂

This looks like a textile art...if I'm not mistaking. I know of a friend who does designs and change colors of cloths using this process.
Nice one.

Ezcellent article.

Because of you i've been inspired to save up and get me the advanced swagman roll. Thanks a lot!

I learn something New.thanks.

Congratulations @eturnerx! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 95000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 96000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Man, there is something truly new to learn each day. Great stuff and definitely looks like a useful tip @eturnerx - hope your weekend was outstanding.

Me gusta tus publicaciones hermano ahora es que estoy empesando a trabajar lo digitalizado soy artista plástico saludoi@ramaco54

Such an interesting post. I appreciate it
You always make a post about very amazing things.