TREASURES INSTEAD OF MUSHROOMS

in #outdoors6 years ago (edited)

SO YESTERDAY EVAN AND I WENT HUNTING FOR MOREL MUSHROOMS

This was an epic fail. We did not find a single one. However we found such better things.

For those who don't know, morel mushrooms are a mushroom that grow in America in certain areas that are Simply Delicious.

images (2).jpeg
Source

INSTEAD OF MOREL MUSHROOMS WE FOUND TREASURES!!!

First, we found what we thought was a landmine!!!

KIMG1167.JPG


Just a little bit later some beautiful flowers.

KIMG1179.JPG


KIMG1194.JPG


Evan found an obstacle course too!!

KIMG1223.JPG


After that workout, back to the woods where we found our next treasure... A tree branch that was shaped like a number "4"

inCollage_20180429_113758818.jpg


Then we happened across a tree that had been cut down by a beaver family!!!

KIMG1234.JPG
IT MADE FOR A GOOD PLACE TO TAKE A BREAK!
KIMG1238.JPG
This is a good picture showing where they chewed all the way through the tree to make it fall.


After a short break, we made our way down to the river to look for shells. I forgot to take pictures when we were there,(I got too excited)but here is a picture of them drying on a towel.

KIMG1276.JPG


While we were getting shells we found this monster!!!!

KIMG1266.JPG
He's a Snapping Turtle.
KIMG1254.JPG
But just a baby.☺
inCollage_20180429_115925696.jpg


While we were out we were also able to pick up some trash that we found!
Some of it we are going to be able to reuse.
KIMG1282.JPG

The clear one on the left we are going to make into sandart and the one on the right we are going to use as a vase.

EVAN ALSO FOUND A TREE THAT HE GOT IN A FIGHT WITH. I WILL PUT OUT A VIDEO OF IT LATER TODAY OR TOMORROW. #😂😂😂

Thanks for coming along for our adventure!!! My only wish is that each and everyone of you great people could have actually came with us.

REMEMBER IF YOU GO OUT TO NOT LITTER

LOVE OUR HOME LIKE YOU LOVE YOURSELF


download.jpeg
Image courtesy of pixabay
⚠⚠REMEMBER TO PROTECT YOUR ACCOUNT FROM PHISHING!!!⚠⚠
FOR MORE INFORMATION ON HOW TO DO SO PLEASE CLICK THIS LINK BELOW.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@arcange/phishing-site-reported-steemrobot-dot-ga
Or this link
https://steemit.com/contest/@simplymike/20sbd-contest-protect-people-from-the-ongoing-phishing-scam

*All images mine except as noted.

Sort:  

Great story and photos of a wonderful day. I miss Morels sooo much. We have great mushrooms here in Russia, but no Morels. I found you on the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @headchange. Congratulations and best wishes.

You say you miss morels? Did you used to live somewhere where there were some? And I'm so sorry to hear that you don't have any in Russia. What kind of mushrooms are your favorites from Russia? I need to get going, but hopefully I will see you around for more games. Oh, and also I noticed you followed me. I would like to try and take time to thank you for that. Each person that follows me means a lot to me, because without each one of their support I could not do this. So to you, I say thanks so much. For now I need to go, but until we meet again I sent you and all of yours all of my love. And as always I asked the Creator bless you and yours.

I'm originally from San Diego, but I lived in Missouri and Iowa for many years and was introduced to Morels. It was like a gift from Heaven - like eating a vegetable steak. Here is Russia we have a lot of amazing mushrooms, but I don't know the English names of the varieties because I never studied nature in the U.S. However, my wife knows them ALL or at least seems to. Russians stay very connected to nature. Much more so than a city boy from San Diego like me. It's been a great experience.

The follow is well deserved. You are putting out good content (can't say that about everyone). I hope you will join us with the #payitforward contest. It seems like something that you would enjoy based on your posts. All the best to you and yours.

So many interesting pictures @johndoer123! I especially love that 4 branch and the seashells :) You're son is adorable. We at @newbieresteemday love seeing you're phishing warning at the bottom of your post! That is super important to point out to all. Great work! ~ABC's of Curation member @amariespeaks

Jump into our discord channel to meet new friends, find great content and contests as well as ask for help: https://discord.gg/FjjfbNR

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Well thank you so much for your kind words. Evans eyes lit up after I told him your compliment. And thank you so much for resteeming me. That really means a lot. My phone just exploded with 20 or so of votes from a whole lot of new people. 😁😁 I can only guess that that is from your resteem. I will try to make it to your Discord Channel. And how exactly do I use your tag? Is it just your name, newbieresteemday? Mostly, I would like to thank you guys for what you were doing in our community. It really means a lot not just to me but to everybody. You are wonderful people! I send all of my love to all of you. And may our creator bless you and yours.

There's a person who left a comment below in this comment section that I believe is phishing. It is @steemboy9 . He has posted a link to upvote one of his posts. When I went to check his blog, he has never posted anything. I believe it may be a phishing link. But I don't know how to report it to @steemcleaners . Is there any way you can help? I'm asking everybody here Because I don't want anyone taken advantage of.
EDIT: Apparantly it was just spam. So no action needed. I'm sorry. I kinda freaked out a little.😨😱

You always get more than expected when venturing out into nature. Unexpected things come up and provide many learning opportunities. Evan looks like he had a really good time.

Yes he definitely did. Thanks so much for stopping by and taking time out of your day to share in our adventure. That's one of the things I love about nature, is that you never know what you're going to get. Stop back by tomorrow to see him in action as he tries to dismantle a tree with his bare hands(and his feet,with shoes on)😁 I hope the weekend was great for you and that this coming week is even better.

Evan is really so cuuute. <3 And the turtle, too. :) :)

I told Evan you said he was cute, you should have seen his face. He's getting into that age where he starting not quite to be a little boy anymore. So when somebody tells him he's cute he makes these wonderful faces that make me just want to laugh. Thanks for enjoying our adventure with us. And I hope you're having a wonderful Sunday. As always I send you and yours my love.

HAHAHA!!! :D :D really? Oh my goosh! I bet that is really funny. :D :D How old is he now? :)

Yeah, it really is. 😁 He cracks me up! He turned 7 last September. I'm going to make his tree fight into a super easy "just leave a comment" game. I'm going to use it as my Monday game. It will be my first time using g Dlive, so we'll see how it goes.😁 was partially his idea...and he gets to be on steemit in a video, so he's really excited about it. I'll see yous around my friends. All my love to yous as always.☺

HAHA! :D Oh wow! You're really awesome! You always get to come up with such very fun games :) Ohh, so he's just 1 year younger than my brother. My brother just turned 8 years old. :D
See you around! :) I'm excited for your new game. :)

As always, your words are more than kind. Thank you so much. does your brother like hanging out in the woods and playing or does he live in a city and do City things? We live in the city but luckily we have a couple of farms that we get to go to to play. So half of our time we are stuck doing City things, and then normally at least on the weekends we get to go play in the country. And about the new game, remember it is very simple. It's more about making Evan a "movie star"then anything. Plus it'll give everybody a chance to have a good laugh. And as always, when money.. 😁 and yes, I'll see you around.

I would call that a huge win

..... nice journey and some very interesting stuff.

Agreed. I can't imagine a better way to have spent my day. Life is always about not getting what you want but making the most of what you do get. And in this case we did very well. Thanks for coming along with us on our adventure. I send all of my love your way.

Looks like that was just a marvelous day all around! And treasures were found... which is always awesome. Very cool that you found the number "4;" you never know when you might need a good number!

=^..^=

It really was a great day. Thanks for taking time to share in our adventure. Did you have a good weekend? The number for was pretty cool. It's one of my favorite numbers. So I thought it was really awesome. Well I'll see you around and I send you and all of yours all of my love.

The little turtle is cute! All pictures awesome!

Please flag @steemboy9 below in this comment section. He has posted a link to what is supposed to be his post. I checked out his blog and he has never posted anything. I believe he is trying to phish. Also I don't know how to report it to @steemcleaners . But I don't want anybody here to be clicking on his link!! Do you think you can help me with reporting it even if you won't flag him? Or is there any way that I can make his comment be hidden? Anything to please help.
EDIT...I figured it out. Apparently it's just spam. I scared the tar out of me though. 😁Yep, I'm a worry wart.

Okay now that my freak out moment is over, I will reply to your reply. Yes the turtle was cute. I almost thought about keeping him for a pet, but I know what that outcome would have been. He is a snapping turtle and eventually my son would have teased him and got bit. He still hasn't quit biting our dog on the ear. 😁

What a great adventure. What was the first home you found? I think I would have kept the turtle as pet

Do you mean, which one did we find first? If so, we found everything in the order of the story. And we found the trash as we went along. And as far as keeping the turtle, he's a snapping turtle. They're cute when they're little but they grow up and they get them attitude. And they like to bite everything. I just really think it would have turned out bad for Evan. But thanks for stopping by and it's good to see you here. I hope you had a good weekend. Tell your family I said hello and I hope but everybody is doing well.

It's a nice journey yeah..I can see that evan very enjoy he edventure..he can learn many things about nature in his hanging around..
Hmm..by the way I like much mushroom,but I never find morel mushroom,because there is no that kind in my country..

They are hard to find here too. They only grow for a few weeks during the whole year. and they are very hard to find in the woods because they match the leaves and are hard to see. Thank you for stopping by and I hope you have a great week. And as always I send all of my love to you and all of yours.

That turtle is very small hehe. Nice bonding!

Yes, he is small here. However when he grows up he can weigh almost 100 pounds(45kg.) And his mouth will be big enough to bite a large piece out of my hand. They are very cute when they are small, but very dangerous when they are big. However they are also very delicious to eat. Thanks for stopping by my dear friend.

And look at you, you made it to reputation 60!!!

CONTRATULATIONS

What a fun day you must have had. I love that you are teaching Evan to upcycle the litter. I love to make art from found objects it is a great skill to start young.
He is adorable I can just imagine him going all Don Quioxote on that tree.

It was simply great. Do you have any pictures of any art you have made? And yes it's quite funny watching him go after this tree. Thanks for stopping by and taking time out of your day for me.

Oh I will always take time out. You are one of the nicest guys around. Actually I do! I plan to do some blog posts on the topic eventually. Today I need to finish up a Pay It Forward post then I can let the mind wander a bit.
I am not good at posting often, get too lost in reading everyone's adventures, but it is fun.

First of all I appreciate the kind words. That is very nice of you. And secondly, it's kind of funny because I'm backwards from you, I barely get time to read people's posts because my blog keeps me so busy. But like on your behalf, it is fun. Have a great day friend.☺

Hey there! You have been featured in this week's @newbieresteemday #MinnowMondays post ! Feel free to drop by and check it here

I did stop by and see it. And thank you so much. Everything that you do for me and for our community is awesome. A big thumbs up to you and everybody there. (If there are more) 👍👍👍 thanks again and I hope that you have a wonderful week. And keep up all of your hard work and never give up fighting for good. I send you and all of yours all of my love until we meet again. And ask that our creator bless each one of you.

This were such great shots!! Nature can be so overwhelmingly beautiful sometimes.
Love. Love your post.
I found your blog through the #Payitforward curation contest where you were featured by @headchange.
Feel free to check us out & best of luck :)

I just saw his post. I plan on checking you guys out but I have a lot of catching up to do right now. But since you say you are a part of this Mission I thank you. People helping people is a wonderful thing. And I guess that you probably know by now that I enjoy it myself. So when I thank you for doing it you know I truly mean it. And thank you so much for the compliments on the post. If you haven't already, and you find some extra time, take a minute to play a game I have here or two. They only take a minute and I believe they're fun. I have some catching up to do so I need to go for now. But thank you again for everything you're doing. And until we meet again I said you and all of yours all of my love. And ask that our creator bless yous.

I haven't found anything in my area yet either. But shouldn't more grow back in the places I found them last year? You can check out my post that shows the pictures of the ones I found then:

https://steemit.com/mushrooms/@proto26/how-to-find-and-possibly-make-money-off-morel-mushrooms

We went out today and found a few. And as far as them growing back in the same places. It changes every year based on the weather. Such as amount of rain, temperature, how quickly the trees get their leaves can even influence it. Ground temperature and soil moistness are probably the best overall way to tell if they are ready to come up and where they will be. Then I'm going to go and check out your post now. I'll thank you ahead of time for sharing. When I was a kid we grew up on an 1100 Acre Farm and some years we would find 50 to 150 lb of mushrooms. Normally those years Grandpa would take them to Chicago and sell them. And up there you can make $70 to $100 a pound for gray and yellow mushrooms. But that was when I was a kid. And I have no clue what it would be now. Anyway thanks for taking time out of your day for me I truly appreciate it. And I hope you have a wonderful week.

That was a really nice post, loved all the pictures, out having fun, that is one of the things that life is all about, lots of fun with family. I am glad that @headchange featured you in the Pay it Forward, I get so far behind that I forget to follow up on peoples postings.

Hearing words like that from somebody like you really means the world to me. I know that you do a lot for the community and so I'll take this opportunity to thank you. So, thank you, so much. And I agree in life what else is there other than family? I just wish that our world and the people in it could realize that we are just one big family. 😞 It's only half the love that we shared here could we spread across the world by everybody, can you imagine what it would be like? And as far as being behind, I completely understand that. I don't know how it was for anybody else, but right now I'm growing so fast I don't know how to keep up. As a matter of fact, just in time I've been writing this I've had 8 or 10 more notifications. I'm hoping eventually, to get a computer to do post from so I can stop using my cell phone. It's not even a very good cell phone, so it makes it kind of tough. But I do what I can with what I have and keep a smile on my face. ☺... Yep, like that little guy. Anyway I should go for now. So until we meet again, I send you and all of yours all of my love. And I asked what our creator bless each and everyone of you.

For using a cell phone your post are certainly very nice looking, and thank you for your words.

Cool post. I've only found morels once thus far - and I wasn't even looking for them! But they were so obvious - and so yummy!

Like a true Viking, did you eat them raw? With the bugs? 😂 Thanks for taking time out of your day to visit brother. And I hope that you have a good week. I send you and all of yours all of my love until I see you again. And ask that our creator keep you safe and blessed.

lol - no. Actually, it's one of the reasons I haven't had much a chance to forage for morels. My parents are the ones who taught me to mushroom hunt and they are raw vegans. Many varieties are easily prepared for the raw diet, but morels is one of the ones they were told to be wary of from the raw standpoint.
However, I haven't met a mushroom that is buggier than the boletus and scilius crowd... hard to find a good one!

I found you through the #payitforward contest where you were featured by @headchange and I have upvoted your post
not much, but ... 3 * 30 = ?

But thank you so much for stopping by regardless. It's nice to have you here. I enjoy meeting new people. So I think it's always nice to have company. Like my grandma said a full house is a happy house. Hopefully I'll see you around more. If you get a chance you can play a game or two of mine, if you haven't already. I promise there quick less than a minute apiece. And everybody who plays wins every time. Until we meet again, I send you and all of yours all my love. And I asked that our creator bless yous.

Hey! That was one awesome adventure. Thank you for letting me see the tiny snapping turtle for the first time and also the strangest honeycomb looking mushroom that I really, really have to try now.

Well thanks for stopping by and going on the adventure with me and him. I am so glad that you enjoyed it. And you are more than welcome for me sharing. Do you have any kids of your own? Or any brothers and sisters? And yes, I would definitely suggest trying morel mushrooms if you have the ability to get them! I hope you have a wonderful day and then I'll see you around here more. Feel free to play any of my games, If you haven't already. I just put one out that is a video of my son Evan trying to beat up a tree. All you have to do for that game as comment if you think the tree or Evan won. I try to keep all of my games simple like this. And if you play any of my games you will always win a prize. I hope you have a wonderful day, and I send all of my love to you and all of yours. And I asked that our creator bless yous.

That is so much more better than the mushrooms. Unless that is for your dinner or something? Then it's still an empty stomach but filled spirit lol! Good thing the mother turtle is not there?

What is the pink tree flower? Is it cherry?

This can be good for #mypictureday :D

I'm not really sure what type of tree it is actually. So that's a really good question. I saw some white flowered trees in the woods that I know or dogwood trees. But this one I don't know. And no we didn't need the mushrooms for dinner. They're more like just a delicacy. I have found some sense. Not a lot but enough for me to eat. Evan is indifferent about them. So he doesn't care if he eats or not. So he let me eat them all. 😁 They're so delicious!

This is story put a smile on my face. Evan would surely never forget your adventures together. I hope I had a father as caring and adventurous like you!

Yes, I'm sure he'll remember it for a while. We love hanging out in the woods and playing outside. As always, thanks for stopping by.

Interestingly I had a roommate in my younger days who's surname was Morel. Did you end up finding out what the landmine thingy was?

It was a distributor rotor out of a car. 😁 Kinda like this one...
images.jpeg

Loading...