You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Got 99 Problems But A Home Ain't One

in #outofthinair ā€¢ 2 years ago

No apologies needed @dandays šŸ˜‰šŸ˜Š all good.
Thank you so much.
Funny now you know, you do see them. Some are difficult as I never did grammar or learned them the right way. Just by hearing and speaking - true parrot fashion. Bit by bit I get there.
Where and were is another good one hehehe šŸ¤­

Wow, I wonā€™t worry to much about it than. Thanks for that.

The toughest oneā€¦ is I think Spanish. As it is so different in many ways. But also mainly because when speaking my pronunciation messes up words and locals donā€™t know what I say.
Than German. Easiest I think Limburgs a dutch dialect. As it is a mix between German and Dutch. But the people in Holland (northern part of the Netherlands) canā€™t understand it.
But german and Dutch are my ā€œnativeā€ languages so to speak. Even though I was born in France, I only speak some words French. German was my first language and than we moved to the Netherlands when I was 6 years old. So had to learn that.

Which and with I know. Also two and knew, newā€¦ one and won, those are easy for me. But I think because when I say them they donā€™t sounds the same. Interesting right?

Ok ok, I wonā€™t ask you to. I understand. šŸ¤“

Yep, could be even worse than Egypt, but experience it and keep it in mind. Be careful! Donā€™t book a whole month just on the safe side.

Yep, I know all about it, we get frustrated at paperwork and clerks that donā€™t know anything. But it just has no point, you are on the losing side of the table, just smile and waveā€¦
We will figure it out as will you. Life goes on šŸ˜ŠšŸ‘‹šŸ»šŸ˜Ž

I donā€™t mind writing long comments

Good night talk tomorrowā€¦

Sort: Ā 

Pura is pretty good with Spanish, we can get by on what she knows in a Spanish speaking community. Mine needs a lot of work but I know the basics. It's so difficult for me. The language is like a backwards speaking language or something. Rather than 'that was necessary' it's 'necessary is that.' <- Not the greatest example but hopefully I'm explaining myself. Spanish is tough, glad it's not just me.

We'll be in the Netherlands next month. We're staying just a city block outside city center between Anne Frank house and Rembrandt Park, near Van Gogh museum if you can visualize that on a map. We've never been there yet.

France to Netherlands, Germany, etcetera all at a young age. If you don't mind me asking, what did your parents do that moved you around so much?

See the pattern? We have more in common than you think. I was raised by a single mother. I never stayed in the same school longer than a year until I got to high school. We were always moving. Fast forward to today and I can't tell you the last time I signed a year lease. I can't sit still.

See you soon.

Thatā€™s great to know, than you wonā€™t have much trouble in getting around with the language in Spain.
Yep, thatā€™s what I meant it is all different to me too, everything is Hustled up. Complicated sentences.
You do know we are leaving Spain for a lot of reason right?
We so outgrew it since we are here. Spain is changing fast the last years and not in a good way, at least here in the south. It is truly worrying how they are treating any foreigners now next to the tourists.
That is why we are actually leaving, so found the company way to assist us in it.

Thatā€™s cool, enjoy Amsterdam! It is a very diverse and bustling city. Busy too, very fast.

In the beginning my father was an international truck driver and my mom would go along, even with me when I was a babyā€¦ than after his accident, they bought houses, fixed them up and sold them. Ongoing till I moved outā€¦ Always on the move my family was, it did have other reasons too.
I havenā€™t been in one school either. Maximum of 2 yearsā€¦ but that was rare, what caused problems of course, just when you started to settle get friends we move again hahaha I think you know all about that.
Until I moved out of my parents place with 16ā€¦ after that I still kept moving around. For a variety reasons. Maybe it is in-betted? Could it be? Are we forever wanderers?
Hubby isnā€™t like that, until he met me 6 years ago hahaha šŸ¤£ but the funny thing we did move a lot together for valid reasons. Like the rentals roof was collapsing, work change 250km away, work relocation to Malta, etc.

Yepā€¦ here too. We made it twice a few weeks over 1 year lease in the last 6 years hahaha
And were we are now, we will stay longer, end of august 1 year is goneā€¦ we donā€™t want to switch addresses now with all the application processes. The landlord agreed to go on month by month after the end of august. We havenā€™t seen the new contract yetā€¦ but hope itā€™s ok.

We have indeed quite a bit in common there. Interesting and cool at the same time.

Ā 2 years agoĀ (edited)Ā 

I can see how complicated were and where can be. Wear is another one probably. Fascinating learning these things from someone else's perspective that are native to me. I never noticed but now I have my eye out for them.


I transplanted a plant yesterday. I know that has nothing to do with anything we're talking about but I'm pretty proud of it. Thing was inside but kept attracting bugs so I took it down the street, next to the river, under a big huge tree so it doesn't get totally rained on. It seems to be thriving.

Anywho..

Funny. I don't know many people as bad as me as far as unable to park. Your husband is the opposite but my wife is arguably worse than me! We both have such a tough time sitting still. I hope you guys get to Mass or wherever you land in the states. I can help you adapt to the culture even from a virtual perspective. I have reliable friends in every state. It's a Union thing.

You've probably heard a lot of negative press regarding the US but it's not that bad. California, especially, super diverse. Best cuisine in the world is in California. You get the best of all worlds. The most diversity I've experienced actually and it just so happens to be where I'm from. Where I'm from white isn't the majority, <- repeat. Mexican is. But we have everyone, my idea of normal is so different than everywhere we've been. My high school was mostly Mexican, then black, then Asian, then maybe white followed by Korean, Chinese, etc you get the picture. I'm way off subject again huh? It's your fault cuz you don't suck to talk to.


Definitely imbedded. Can't shake it! Why am I not surprised to hear you say that about Spain? Between me and you, it's just us here, right? We don't have our hopes up, totally prepared for disappointment.

We've been shopping homes and properties back in the states a little more regularly, particularly the east coast this time; North Carolina/Virgina'ish. Just somewhere we can call for the got dang dogs and park for like 10 yearsā€”"ha-ha" funny right? Wishful thinking.

But if Spain doesn't capture our attention, I do hope to spend some time around EU and Commonwealth before we leave. Maybe try to stick it out til next summer or something.

These comments could be posts they're so lengthy. It's all your fault. <3

See you when you get back!

It is so funny you are noticing these now, and realising how complicated some are. Hehehe šŸ¤“

Yes, tell me all about plants and natureā€¦ I love plants, great to hear you got it somewhere nice and it is thriving now under the tree. Letā€™s cross some more if gingers that it will do just fine šŸŒ±šŸŒ±šŸŒ±šŸ¤žšŸ»šŸ¤žšŸ»

Great we found each otherā€¦ we can compare notes and brainstorm a bit šŸ˜‰
Thank you kindly @dandays I would for sure appreciate that, any help is welcome. Especially after such a big move.

Of course everybody has, but you know what, the positives for us soooo outweighs the negatives. We sure would blend in better in many ways. If the company would have had an office in California we would have gone there. But it didnā€™t.
I heard a lot about it, and I just love that mix, the diversity. All living along each other without to much problems. I so understand and get it.
Hahaha I didā€¦ lol

Yep just us hereā€¦ That is goodā€¦ to be prepared. I know for sure you wonā€™t settle in the south. Like we donā€™t. Not sure about the area you are looking into, but my guess is it will be the same. But you never know, maybe you do fall in love with that little town out there.

Yep, maybe better to keep at that, as the US is so familiar for you guys. Always a way backā€¦ those states do sound nice, also not on the companies list hehehe šŸ¤­

Sounds like a plan, see a bit more if Spain doesnā€™t stick. Stretching it a year sounds good. You can cover a lot in that time.

Nope it is not my faultā€¦ it is a ā€œweā€ thing šŸ˜‡šŸ˜‡šŸ˜‰šŸ˜‰
Take care! Enjoy the Wednesday further.

Ā 2 years agoĀ (edited)Ā 

I just had a whole response typed out right here and the fuckin app bugged out ~poof!~ Gone.

What I was saying before I was so rudely interrupted was this is the area we're virtually shopping stateside. One would think such a narrow accuracy would make an easier decision but it doesn't.

And then, since I was in image sharing mode, I proceeded to tell you of the hip little restaurant we found yesterday. Total accident too. Love it when that happens. We ventured off several miles from the house and stumbled across a little gem of a spot. Didn't even look occupied from the outside and we weren't sure where the entrance was. Upon entering it was super nice, surprisingly great food, too, and the view didn't suck at all.

Culture wise, US, no sweat, I got you covered not that you'll need help. But should you ever make it to Los Angeles, I'm better than satellite navigation. Even from a distance I can get you in and out of all the nice spots, where to avoid, must see's and must do's from a locals perspective without actually being there.

I better click send before I can't.

Ooohhh I so hate that when that happens, had that a few times too. Sorry it happened @dandays

It looks small on the map, but sure isnā€™t small to find something, especially from abroad I think.
But should be possible. Hope you find something nice there. We sure will visit šŸ˜šŸ˜Ž

Aawww I can almost smell the tomatoes, basil and mozzarella. Love that comboā€¦ the food does look great and the view behind it.
I love places like that. Little gems that look nothing on the outside and it just turns out to be the best you had in a long time. Super cool. Others avoid just by the looks and you get real food insideā€¦ little gems indeed.
Great find! Thanks for sharing with me.

Thanks for thatā€¦ biggg hugggg coming right your way šŸ¤—šŸ¤—šŸ¤—
We sure will visit LA, itā€™s a must one day. Would be so cool when you guide us. I let you know first when we go šŸ˜‰šŸ˜Ž

Hahaha it worked yeah!