Sort:  

I'm a work in progress.

I've only experienced mold a couple times actually, I'm probably not the best source on that one. I've seen little spots, in the ceiling for example, cut it out and replaced the sheet rock.

Larger projects, I'd enlist the help of @paradoxtma @thebigsweed @splatts

Good luck!

Thanks, it seems I got an answer. Appreciated!

My pleasure, glad I could help.

Since I got tagged on this, and I live in a very damp place with LOTS of molds and fungus around, I'll chime in.

The first thing you need to do is repair whatever was letting water in that caused the mold in the first place. Lysol spray and diluted bleach both work pretty good at cleaning up and killing mold. Use one or the other, not both at the same time. If it's really bad, bleach will make for easier and cheaper clean up. If it's on something that bleach will ruin, use the Lysol spray instead.

Do not use ammonia based cleaning products, because they will break down to compounds that are basically fertilizer for mold, mildew, and fungus. The same is true for most soapy cleaners.

I hope this helps a little, good luck!

Thanks so much. Yeah. I have been using ammonia based products and I kept wondering what's happening because mold was showing off more and more in different places. Now I know why. I'll do an analysis on the two rooms where there's mold and I think that having more in one of them, I might start with bleach. Thank you once again. This is really helping.

No problem, always happy to help folks fight the good fight!