Creating Junkrat detonator and mine replica

in #overwatch6 years ago (edited)

I started on this journey because I love playing overwatch and I love cosplay. Junkrat is one of my favorite characters and I want to do this piece justice, as it is one of my favorite abilities that he has. That is his detonator and his mine. Not counting his main weapon these two pieces are the most iconic of his kit in my mind. I have put a lot of work into modeling it and I think it is almost done on the modeling side. Here is a render of the detonator. I had to scale the mine down a lot, so it is not nearly as nicely organized to be able to render as the detonator is.

Detonator v31(2).png

I think it is pretty close to the in-game model if I do say so myself. I haven't done a lot of 3d modeling in the past, but I have done enough to know where to start and what to do. Doing this has been a great learning experience though. I love 3d printing, so my plan is to 3d print these models out. Which I have actually already printed a couple out for testing purposes. The main aspect I wanted to test was a feature I have never tried modeling before. Moving parts. I don't only want this piece to look like the model in game, I want it to act like it as well. This is why I wanted to top piece to actually move up when the level was pulled. Beyond that I also wanted the chain to be able to freely move. Here is a short clip showing the top piece moving. (No chain yet, and I also added a spring to the system after this)

https://d.tube/v/antifx/69zrwhgp
(I don't think I know how to properly embed Dtube videos yet)

I have done quite a few modifications since this and I will be posting those updates soon. What I haven't mentioned yet is that I also want electronics to be in these two devices and for it to operate exactly as it does for Junkrat. (Except instead of the mine exploding it just makes and exploding sound).

That is the only part I have not finished yet, the electronics. I have pieces on the way to start that process, but I have never done anything like this before. If anyone has any ideas on how to accomplish this then please let me know!

More updates will be coming soon! And when I am completely finish I will most likely release the STL files for others to 3d print, and sell completely finished pieces on Etsy.