OWCP (Oh What Crap, Please)?

in #owcp7 years ago

I was injured at work almost 2 years ago. OWCP is a nightmare and I just wanted people to know if you get hurt at work you have to act quickly. I realize you are in shock from the accident and pain, but try to get help with clearing your head enough to realize you must get your doctors to take a step back with this program so they don't give you a diagnosis that you are doomed with from the start. My doctor was not familiar with OWCP and was trying to figure out what to do to help me and figure out what exactly was hurt with this accident. Well, he made the mistake of simply stating back pain while he looked for the reason for the back/coccyx pain. The OWCP took that diagnosis and ran with it and as the doctor found out about a torn disc and dislocated pelvis & pubic symphysis, nerve damage in the pelvis that was causing my array of severe pain, they didn't bother to add any of the information. I guess OWCP expected the doctor to add to the diagnosis, but he didn't know that. Who would? He kept sending in updates with what was discovered, but they just kept the original back pain/sprain as the diagnosis. Well, pain is not compensable. So guess what the employee gets stuck with years of dealing with the residuals of the injury for the rest of their lives and no financial help to heal if possible. To beat all, they never paid the doctor whos diagnosis they accepted. So the employee then also gets a bill for what should have been covered by the OWCP program. Unbelievable right?!? I just want people to be aware of this legalized crime (I'm my opinion). The very program set up to help employees injured, the very one that is mandated by law for businesses to pay into doesn't really help the employee at all. Unless it is a cut and dry case you better get some help in dealing with the OWCP. Just FYI.