read and win !!!

in #owes7 years ago

What the Day Owes the Night was on quite a couple of best books for 2011/books you must read in 2011 lists, and I can see why. This is really a amazing book And a great movie in my opinion.I really enjoyed it and I found it so easy to read. Most of all, I loved the writing. I loved the way every neighbourhood was described - the slums in Jenane Jato, the affluent neighbourhood his uncle lived in in Oran, Rio Salado, the way the neighbourhoods changed over the years. I loved learning a bit about Algeria and the Algerian revolution. It was like I was there and I was able to envision everything. I was transported to Algeria through reading this book, and in particular to Jonas' life. Sometimes I wanted to shake him and say "Make a decision - good or bad, it's better than nothing!", but even with that I still enjoyed reading it.