CHRONICLES

in #paec6 years ago

I bumped into this former classmate from primary school at the ATM unit.
You know the usual "who's the last person here?" question. Only for you to look at the face of whom you asked, turns out it's someone you know.
You shriek and want to extend your hand and scream, "Jesus! Boyyyyy hafaa na!" only that the person in question briefly gives you the stink eye before turning the other way abruptly.
Like they don't know you from Adam.
But I'm still smiling sheepishly, tingling all over with excitement as I joined the queue. Who wouldn't be if they saw a classmate roughly 20 years after?
We could be properly introduced if only I tap his shoulder from behind and announce myself. Probably he does not see clearly in the afternoon.
Anyway, I intentionally stepped out of the queue and went side-by-side him, so that we'd have a direct view of each other. I looked at him in a knowing way, but then i noticed that dude was avoiding my glances. Shifty-eyed, looking everywhere but in my direction.
After awhile, I retreated to my position behind him.
As we inched closer to the ATM, still following after him, my church mind kept urging me to be the bigger person: "Just say hello. Maybe you kind of aged badly and changed. Moreover, it's been two decades, you may never see him again." The voice whispered softly in my head.
Hmm... Should I., Should I not?
.
The back story is that some years back, this dude and i reconnected on bbm. I remember vaguely Facebook as well. So he would only not know me if he suffered chronic amnesia.
So you know what I did, I muted the inner voice. Two can definitely play.
Nobody's got a monopoly of snobbism and pettiness. He withdrew his naira and marched off.
I was like, see you in another 20 years.