You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: .

in #painting5 years ago

When you use the paper with the rough tooth, if your colour has been made from more than one colour, the pigments can separate: One pigment will go into the 'valley' and another pigment will stay on the 'hill' ~ So you may get a mottled look.

So rough paper is great for textural effects ~ Great for landscapes and impressions. Harder for working with details. Which may be why you found this new paper difficult for this particular painting. Never-the-less Scrawly, it's a very beautiful painting and you have captured her inner calm and grace so well. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Sort:  

Oohhh!! That really explains a great deal about why I'm having so much difficulty with this one, I even thought that I was devolving in my watercolour skills. I guess the other one that I've been using is a smooth paper, this is what they describe as hot or cold press, is it? It doesn't say it anywhere on the pad though so I'm only guessing.

Thank you so much for the explanation, Ally. That is really awesome and it helps me a lot understanding the difference of strength and weakness between the paper <3.