Sometimes all you need is a little splash of color !!

in #painting7 years ago (edited)

IMG_8872.JPG

My Original work.....

This is the painted glass window of my bathroom.

IMG_8873.JPG

Another image of the same window

IMG_9115.JPG

The peacock door !!

IMG_9117.JPG

This is my son's bedroom door which I painted about 15 years back and the colors are as bright as they were then. It was around that time,when I saw a friend painting a tile with glass colors. Got fascinated and wanted to paint windows and doors. The below image was my first attempt.It's not very neat and is smudged at places. Direct sunlight has faded some color.

IMG_8870.JPG

So I'll tell you how to go about it......

First of all take a thick glass and clean and wipe it properly. It has to lie on a flat surface.

Then take a drawing sheet and draw your design on it. I do free hand. Place the drawing sheet under the glass and secure it with some tape which can be removed later.If using a frosted glass,you can draw directly on it as the pencil marks are visible on that surface.

With an outliner draw the design and let it dry properly. The outline should neither be very thick nor very thin. The color can flow out if it is very thin and thick line doesn't look that good.

After it's dry,start filling your design with color. Make sure no bubbles are formed. If that happens,try bursting them with a toothpick or remove with a cotton bud.

If you smudge the outliner, don't remove it when wet. Let it dry and then scrape it with a knife. Fill the gap again.

Now let the painting dry for a day or so.

Take a little thinner transparent glass of the same measurement and place it on the painted glass. Secure it with tape all around. The top glass saves it from dust and getting scraped.

IMG_9155.JPG

IMG_9201.JPG

This is me in the picture with a glimpse of my window. Hope you like my art as well as this post. Thanks for going through it. Love and peace :)

Sort:  

Gorgeous work!

Thank you so much for appreciating...glad you liked it :)

Beautiful it is. :)

Thank you so much :)

Wow this is beautiful!

Glad you liked my work....thank you :)