Octopus in Modern Society - Acrylic on paper

in #painting6 years ago (edited)

6.jpg


Hi Everyone!

This is my third post on this Community. And let's see!
Last Friday on the sidelines of my busyness became an employee I re-join with college friends who are currently active in the program Friday Art Design Session (FADES). FADES is a movement formed by one of my art lecturers as a forum for college friends who are still in college and who have finished college to re-make drawing as a positive activity and provide new spirit in the daily routine that is sometimes very boring. And last Friday the theme is Habitus.

Well, this theme fits perfectly with me because I happen to love literature and philosophy and I have a book written by a philosopher named Pierre Fellix Bourdieu who is a Frenchman, the title of his book is (Habitus x Capital) + Domain = Practice. The title of the book is at first glance similar to the mathematical formula, hehe.

However, the contents of this book tell me that the habit is formed by the existence of capital and meet with a scope of life that eventually gave birth to a practice in life (character). A little example; Mary is a smart and diligent child, why Mary can be smart and diligent? Because Mary goes to school and is always supported by both parents who give full affection to her.

I have closed the discussion about Habitus Bourdieu because now I will discuss about my art, haha. I live in a city that belongs to a metropolitan city in Indonesia and this city is the capital of the country. Yes the city is named Jakarta, a fucking city that is always ready to prey on the weak, and poison people's thoughts to become apathetic. In this city that I often see crowds of people in traffic, but I rarely find the human side. After I think more deeply this may happen because jakarta is a place of the urban people who migrated from the village with the hope to earn a living and decent living despite the facts instead, many of them finally stressed, gave up halfway and began to shut down for nothing too caring for others around him.


Then what is the relationship of the characters in the painting with all these things?

Well this apathy is increasing in the present, a period where all communication can be done only with a smart phone of a period where you can reach the whole world only through this small object. I do not deny that with the existence of this technology life becomes easier, but I also see the dark side behind all this, why? Because I also see, experience, and feel it. I see where the little kids of today are busy playing with their phones almost nothing else I find where the little kids play together outside running around with a smile. I watched as I boarded the train despite sitting squeezing but almost everyone was just busy grabbing their phones and occasionally smile themselves with it. Unlike when I was a kid while riding a public vehicle I saw people talking to each other talking to each other. The world is different now, many people like tied to the neck with a smart phone. And sometimes I also feel very lonely even though I was in the crowd, in the midst of the crowd so that finally made me unconsciously stuck to hold my phone and open some ebook to start reading.


Why Octopus?

Because the octopus is an animal that has a remarkable sense apparatus, in addition to belonging to the cleverest animal class among the octopus invertebrate species is also a very sensitive animal to its environment.

The first is because the octopus has good eyesight. Pupil octopus is shaped like a piggy bank so it is feared suffering from an astigmatic refraction disorder, but it does not matter to the octopus hunting with less illumination. The octopus eye "can" distinguish the polarization of light but seems color-blind. Two special organs called statocysts connected to the brain act as a horizontal position detector. Orientation of octopus eyes is guarded by autonomic motion (reflex) so that the opening of the pupil is always horizontal.

The second is because the Octopus has a very sharp sense of taste. The suction tool on the octopus arm is equipped with a chemoreceptor so the octopus can feel the touched object. The octopus arms have a pressure sensor to detect which arm is stretched out, but has very low proprioceptive (feelings of position and body movement). The pressure sensors do not give enough information to the brain about the position of the body and the octopus arm. As a result, the octopus does not have the ability to recognize objects in three dimensions (stereognosis) of the object it touches. Octopus can feel variations of texture on the object being touched but can not combine information to guess the shape of the object being touched.

My reason for choosing an octopus is because I want to make an example of comparison and learning for myself, how can I be a human being who is the most perfect creation of a god blessed with eyes, tongue, brain, even better heart of him can not do much better than an octopus ? How can I ignore my surroundings and be apathetic with all the things I have got? I do not want to be apathetic because I realize life will be much more beautiful if we grow and grow together.


And this is our excitement when drawing work together

1.jpg
As I start to give color over the sketch


2.jpg
Drifted in the work, pervading every brushstrokes


3.jpg
All the friends look very focused in pouring all their ideas and thoughts into a work of art


4.jpg
Red, is my favorite color because it shows boldness, dare to change for the better


5.jpg

This is a close detail, I use acrylic paint and photo paper as a canvas, I like the texture of this paper because of its slippery surface that makes it easier for me to brush.


And it seems like up here I'm writing, because it's too long, hehe. I am very grateful to anyone who has taken time to read my post, I hope you can enjoy it, I am always open to receive any input from you :)

Thank you, I love you all!