Happy Independence Day Pakistan (14 August, 1947)

in #pakistan7 years ago

It's been an incredible day today. It's the 70th anniversary of Pakistan. As a member of the Steemit platform, I consider it important to share some details about our national festival so that we can develop better mutual understanding as a standout social community.

image

The above image is of Arfa Karim Technology Park in Lahore. Arfa Karim was the then youngest Microsoft Certified Professional in the world before she died as a teenager; a loss every Pakistani cried at.

image

A giant flag displayed on one of our local buildings captured by me.

Short Historical Background of Pakistan

Pakistan, Bangladesh and India are three major countries of Indian subcontinent, which also includes Nepal, Bhutan, Sri Lanka and Maldives.

The famous (or I must say that the notorious) East India Company was formed in London on 31 December, 1600. In 1608, the first ships of the company arrived in subcontinent for trade; the primary objective of the company.

However, by 1803 the company had a provate army of 260,000 soldiers; which was double the number of British Army itself. The company ruled India from 1757 to 1858; more than a century.

In 1857, locals fought a war for independence which was considered mutiny by the Britishers, and consequently Indian subcontinent became a British colony.

After 90 years of colonization, and due to the efforts of local leaders and masses, Pakistan and India became two independent nations in August 1947.

Pakistan's independence from British colonial rule is celebrated on 14 August every year in commemoration of Pakistan becoming a separate nation on 14 August, 1947.

I have left out deeper political details because that's an entire topic in itself. The aim was to give a general overview of how Pakistan became independent.

Happy Independence Day by Google & Facebook

I and fellow Pakistanis thank Google for remembering our national day and honoring it.

image

Facebook also did its best to wish every Pakistani on our national day; a notion we are grateful for.

image

Long Live Pakistan!

Celebrations of the Day - The Air Show

The biggest event was the Air Show by Pakistan Air Force in two cities; Islamabad and Karachi. I have images from both the shows and the videos that I captured myself. You woul love them.

image

This stunning image was captured by my good friend Awais Lali; who is a fantastic aviation photographer and my next big Steemit acquisition (I have to bring him to Steemit!).

image

Another stunning image by Awais from the Islamabad show!

image

The aircraft in the above picture is called JF-17 Thunder and we make it ourselves with the help of China.

image

That's an F-16 captured by me in Karachi.

image

Loads of people came to the beach (not in the image) to watch the show live.

image

Let me show you the people on the beach. There were so many of them. Don't forget that Karachi is a city of more than 20 million population. A lot of them were on the Sea View (Clifton) beach today.

image

I captured two videos from the air show as well that I would like to share with you. I hope you like them.

And the JF-17 performing solo.

Nice to know that we have a Steemit Pakistan logo as well.

image

I hope you liked the information about Pakistan and the loved the celebrations. Please do upvote and resteem this post if you liked it.

ilyastarar banner

Sort:  

Thanks for continuing to teach me about your country. I've learned a lot about what it's like to live there just from your posts!

That's an incredible honor for me to have introduced Pakistan to you a bit. I will keep trying to highlight more dimensions of my country. Thank you for your interest.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ilyastarar from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Nice Post! Upvoted
Check out my post too...
Happy 70th Independence Day Pakistan

Very beautiful pictures and videos.
Happy 70th Independence day to you.