An Unexpected Hatchling

in #palnet2 years ago

When it comes to farm life, you never quite know what the day might hold, which in many cases can be exiting and frustrating all at once.

And as it goes with life on the farm, I think the trick is to simply count every blessing as they come your way - whatever they might be.

image.png

As I make slow but sure progress with getting the farm back into a running state, I tend to pack on little side projects as I go along, one such project was getting the chicken coops back up and running, and in order to do that I needed to expand our little chicken family, so I managed to get 5 chicks and a rooster for the single remaining hen that was still in the chicken run.

It didn't take long for her to start laying eggs, and before I knew it, she had hatched two chicks of her own, sadly, she decided that after the first two chicks hatched, that it was a good time to leave her elevated nest in order to care for them. I tried getting her back on the eggs, but that was a futile effort.

A day or so later, I decided to remove the unhatched eggs from the nest. This was when I heard a feint peep inside one of the eggs. Now I didn't have an incubator on hand and I wasn't exactly sure what to do, I remembered my mom used to make use of the warming drawer in the oven in cases like these - but that was with an electric oven where you could gauge the heat properly and we have since moved to gas.

image.png

I also didn't have any loose light fitting and globes lying around either, and the best I could do at that moment was to place the eggs in a small box, and keep it warm with a space heater as best as possible.

It certainly wasn't the ideal, but it was late in the afternoon, and the shops were already closed, so it would have to do for the night.

A few hours into the night, one egg had hatched, and by morning, another - sadly the second chick did not make it. I am guessing with the mom off the nest to early it simply didn't get the heat and care it needed to develop completely.

image.png

However the one that had hatched the previous day, seemed to be doing ok, he was a bit weak and frail and at first I tried getting him back under the hen - but she didn't want to accept him, she chased him off and tried pecking at his head.

So I ended up placing him in a large birdcage inside the house where I could monitor and protect him. I soon realized that he just wasn't getting the hang of this whole pecking thing, and i decided to take on of the bigger chicks from the coop to help teach him.

image.png

After sharing the story with @r0nd0n, he thought it well to dub the tiny fluff-ball 'LIL PEEP' because the general rule of thumb on the farm is that you don't name something that ends up on the dinner table. *(Not that I had any intentions of breeding these chickens for the table in the first place, maybe for their eggs at the most...)

Sort:  

it's adorable <3

You should see it now, its all round and floofy - really reminds me of R0ns head :D

"Life finds a way."

At least you're not faced with an infant T-Rex. Although, if chickens were as large as carnosaurs, they'd give them a run for their money, I am sure. Glad to hear you're getting the farm in shape, and released from your sentence to the city. You have continually demonstrated the gumption necessary to make your way in difficult circumstances, and I can not express the depth and breadth of the admiration you deserve, nor how materially you have inspired me.

Thanks!

Ah, you never run out of beautiful things to say.
Thank you so very much for your kindness.
You know what they say about life and lemons - at the end of the day, I am just trying my best to function to the best of my abilities while in survival mode, and while I am here I might as well appreciate the smaller things in life - like this Chicken :D

I confess, I envy both of you the company of the other.

that name sounds very much like a Rondon suggestion lol. I am glad your farm is getting back in shape. Slow process sure, but you can do it!

Thanks for the vote of confidence Gael - I must admit, some days I wonder LOL
Hope that all is well on your side?

Congratulations @breezin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 130000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 140000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!