You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Would I Recommend Using A Service Like @Upvotebank?

in #palnet5 years ago

Hey @kharma.scribbles, thank you for that informative reply!
I agree, it might be mentioned that he is involved with/running the service, but as I have shown in the service's description, he clearly states that upvotes are distributed to OTHER users, which implies that the votes are not used for himself, which is pretty selfish.

I'm just shocked, because I actually love that concept and think that, if done correctly and fair, would bring a lot of positivity to this chain.

So @minimalpris, if you want to team up and work on doing actually something good for everyone, hit me up :P


And yes, it might be easy for your particular case to tell if the vote is genuinely and manually done by you, but I just couldn't tell for everyone. Plus I also agree that there must be a voting trail / or setting, to actually vote within the 15 minute time-frame, so that people receive maximum curation rewards (which isn't a bad thing imho).

To be 100% fair, I can't really tell if I ONLY voted for these accounts as, when I manually curate it often times are random accounts that might only receive one vote, os it is hard to tell from the statistics.

But I'm sure that the frequency voted for @upvotebank and @minimalpris are simply just too high and unfair for everyone else.

My min vp was set at 85% (which might have been too low :P)

Sort:  

I think 85 might have been too low for you.

I was not arguing with you, I want to clarify that - I was tired when I wrote that so I'm sorry if it came off that way.

One thing I am confused about is the 15 minute thing.. I had read that there is a balance you need to achieve but for exampe voting within the first minute means you split your curation 100% with the author! and it scales off to about 50% at the 15-minute mark, so between 15 minutes and 20 is ideal, UNLESS you are the first to vote and the post ends up with a lot of votes - because the bonus for being the first one to find the 'trending' content gets a boost on curation that can make up for early voting.

For example, the tipu bot won't even vote within the first 15 minutes of your post - and steemauto has a vote delay that defaults to 15 minutes (if enabled)..

I'm still new and barely understand it all to be honest. So much different information and now HF21 come to change it all up again! lol

Hey sorry, I didn't want to come off that way, too :D

I think I'm also not the best person to explain the technicality behind the "voting time window", but @acidyo has published a post regarding the best curation techniques (https://steempeak.com/curation/@acidyo/curation-tips) and he also mentions that @jga knows all the technical stuff behind it.

I think we are in the same boat, I'm also not fully understanding how it works and yeah now it will all change again anyways :D

But how I understood it that after the HF21 change it will be most profitable for curators, to vote after 5 minutes instead of 15 ;)

Yes, that is what I heard too!

I'm rather optimistic about HF21, there is a lot of negativity around it but I think people are jumping the gun because they can't know if it will be bad until it gets here tomorrow... It can't be that bad I doubt Steemit would do something to jeopardize the platform.

We shall see. :)