You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: GOD Supports Creating an Anime Tribe (Steem Engine)

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

An anime steem tribe is cool. But you should not raise funds by selling a token for a project not yet created. I am telling you this because I care about you not running into legal trouble.

If you sell tokens to raise funds for a project that is not created yet the SEC could come after you. Yes, even for very small amounts. The smaller the project the easier the target. Even if you're not in the US it does not mean that the SEC cannot come after you.

If I were you, I would track down everyone that bought your tokens by checking the data and return their tokens to them.

The Hobo project created a token as well but it has been being managed carefully. Currently, no tokens are sold, only given away to people as rewards for actions we deem positive.

While the many hodlers of the token might be trading their personal tokens, issuers/creators of tokens do not get to sell their token until there is a fully functional product or service related to their tokens. This is because if your token is a utility token, it must be useful at the moment of selling it.

I am not trying to give you bad news. I say this out of concern for you and for your benefit.

Sort:  

Good and timely advice @hobo.media.

@holovision this is a serious matter that warrants your immediate attention. Please don't take it lightly.

Additionally, I would like to inform you (@holovision) that the images that you use are making my antivirus software to give Trojan warnings whenever I log in to steem-engine.com. It appears that you are using images from imagesafe.org which, despite its name, is not safe!

I am not sure what you want me to do if imagesafe.org is having a problem. I use that to host my blog images so the only remedy I can think of is stop viewing my blog posts. Nobody else seems to have that complaint about images on my blog posts so maybe the problem is on your end?

I use an antivirus software called Malwarebytes on top of the normal antivirus software (Bitdefender Total Security) to detect viruses and malwares not detected by Bitdefender Total Security. Bitdefender does not detect the trojan in the images but Malwarebyte does. There could be viruses and malwares that Malwarebyte may not detect.

Most people use the normal commercial softwares like Avast, Bitdefender etc and therefore wouldn't have detected it. Additionally, because you are just starting off, your readership is not big and neither the userbase of steem-engine.com and so not many people would have detected it and some even if aware of it, may not have bothered to complain. Rest assured as your readership increases, you will get more complaints.

Steem-engine is aware of the problem because I told them so and they are going to address it.

I suggest you stop using images from imagesafe. This would be a proactive and prudent step from your end. Of course you are free to continue using it also. That is your prerogative.

I used to use two different antiviruses on the same computer and I would occasionally get false positives. In order to eliminate the possibility of a false positive have you tried using only Malwarebyte on a different computer to see if it still identifies the same problem?

That is interesting, @assistive.tech. Thanks for the alert.

@assistive.tech, does it make any difference if I test it by simply disabling Bitdefender and use only Malwarebytes?

Thank you for your opinion.

It doesn't seem he wants to hear that or really cares. I tried to warn him as well.