Sort:  

No i wouldn't. Because I am a selfish individual. But collectively i would consider it, just like i would particpate in a group charity drive. Are stock buybacks a stupid idea too? Companies earn their earned dollars to help rise the value of their stock on the exchanges. It just depends on the sentiment of the willing, and some dont mind sacrificing for a greater good.

Posted using Partiko Android

We are selfish by default. All live creatures are.
Charity is BS.
Steemit.inc is a company. They should burn tokens.
If you buy Amazon stocks you're not burning them. Amazon doing that.

And sacrificing for the greater good? Common man, get serious.

With your mindset, you're ready for a big surprise down the road.

But that is just my opinion and experiences and I don't expect anybody to agree with me.

But I wish you good luck.

I think he's saying that there would be an exchange of value. You'd be paying for promotion the money just ends up at @null ... it's still a payment for a service.
Now the question at hand is how much is that service worth? Depends on how many people see the promotion i guess.