Making money on Medium vs on Steem

in #palnet5 years ago

This morning I was looking at some recent posts by @kadavy and found a comment by @mistysummers who was wondering about the experience of making money on Medium. I wrote my own comment and thought about expanding it into a separate post.

In my experience it's very hard to make some money on Medium. First, the writing has to be exceptional and second, you have to get picked by publications. Third, monetization isn't even available in some regions (like in my country - Lithuania which is part of the EU).

Before I came to Steem I used to dilligently post my articles every day for more than a year but I would only get one or two 2 claps out of them. I thought that this is a normal situation for a beginner and something magical will happen and I will start getting noticed.

Then I understood that in order to succeed, I have to network with those publications and with well-established authors.

It didn't feel right to me. I know it works for others and some people are making real money on Medium but I just didn't like the feeling of having to depend on outside forces to get noticed and rewarded.

Plus I didn't like the fact that Medium recently changed their business model and is forcing their readers to subscribe for a small monthly payment. OK, this is of course fair if they would share this revenue with all the authors. They don't have to give equal rewards to everybody, this wouldn't be fair. But everybody's contribution is worth something..

But of course just like Facebook, they don't want to give, they only want to get... They haven't seem to grasp the power of decentralization and blockchain yet.

Then I read @stellabelle's post about Steem on Medium and the rest is history...

On the other hand, here on Steem (and especially since recently Steem Engine has been created) I can get rewarded in multiple tokens, I can invest myself to facilitate the growth of my account. It's just there are so many opportunities here on Steem these days. And new ones are popping up every week:

PALnet...
Neoxian...
SteemLeo...
Sportstalk...
Splinterlands...

I'm sure I'm already forgetting some...

And soon Creative...

And the best part is that I don't have to be picked. I can pick myself...

I can pick myself and invest in my future whareas on Medium even with their recent changes to subscription model is still old school (same with Patreon, by the way).

Do you have any experience with Medium?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I will always prefer steem than medium

I am not a fan of Medium . Not at all.
And I have never been.
Glad to read some proof now that I was not wrong.

The user interface is very beautiful, I can't deny it. But this doesn't change the fact that in my mind Steem is far far superior.

I still blog on medium and I am on the author program but I haven't ring-fenced any of my content. I've had some success blogging for a few publications but it takes ages for them to accept your post

Where has stellabelle gone anyway? She used to be pretty active? last I heard she was doing pixEOS

She seems to be jumping from place to place where the grass feels greener.

I prefer an upvote over a clap hahaha. Thank you for sharing your experience and thoughts about medium it made me question why some people would rather stick with something that is centralized and difficult to get noticed. There are other platforms like steemit.

Maybe they are better at networking than I am...

Yeah, there are many tribes more like weedcash and actnearn. I have never tried to look into Medium that is there are some ways to earn. I keep using steem

I hope you will stick to Steem for decades...

I had written this article some time ago inspired by the comparison between Medium (and other classical centralized platforms like Facebook) and Steem:

https://steempeak.com/busy/@sorin.cristescu/why-blockchain-is-a-revolution

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! I'm going to read it.

With popups and payment requests, Medium is getting super annoying for readers, and projects are moving away from it. Freecodecamp, which used to be one of the biggest blogging projects on Medium, recently moved to a self-hosted alternative. They should have built their platform on Steem instead. https://www.freecodecamp.org/forum/t/we-just-launched-developer-news-heres-how-you-can-use-it/279929