You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Turning 70: Circle Jerks, Communities, Onboarding, Downvoting & Other Random Thoughts

in #palnet4 years ago

Yeah, that's what I was alluding to. It's sad, but I think it's tempered by the bid bots being knocked off the table which means better reward distribution, and the 50/50 split - all our daily rewards have gone up for good content really so a few downvotes won't make much difference. It makes it even more important to grab new users and adopt them - delegate a little, give them encouraging words, upvote them - and let the people who are dealing with the downvoters deal with them in their way. Honestly, I don't see a lot of trolling as I don't get involved with the crap - my experience is positive by and large, because that's all I focus on. If I was hanging out with the people moaning about the trolls, I'd probably feel differently OR if I was downvoted that much it hurt me. Again, gotta encourage people to ignore the f**ckers - they exist all over the tinternet, not just steem. My 70 year old mother in law was trolled on a post the other day and she was in tears. We had to explain how petty and insignificant they are, and how to shrug them off!

Sort:  

The downvotes by the trolls don't really matter rewards-wise since they don't really make that much of a dent. It is the discouragement that comes with the downvotes. Most content creators are sensitive souls and we put so much of ourselves and our hearts out there with every single post. And it hurts when our hardwork is trampled on and disregarded or trolled without so much as a by your leave. I'm all for constructive criticism but automated downvote trolls are just indiscriminate in the hate they dish out.
They do not take into consideration the feelings of the person they are downvoting and I'm sorry that happened to your mother-in-law. But yeah, sometimes, we just need to help explain to the victims that the troll downvotes have as much significance as a random mosquito bite or bird poop.

Exactly- tell them they're valued and we care and those downvotes mean NOTHING coz they're not even THINKING about how the person feels or the work that went into it. xx You've made me think that every time I see a downvoted post on a newbie or a decent bit of writing, I'm gonna personally go in and give some love!