Staking PandaCoin PND for nostalgia, maybe profit?

in #pandacoin7 years ago

After discovering Bitcoin in 2014 my first run in with alt-coins was with PandaCoin PND. To say the least PandaCoin has a shady background but of course I like most new comers at the time didn't find this out until later. Even so it didn't bother me much I liked the latest versions community as corny as it was and I hadn't bought more than a couple dollars worth. I was having fun and was able to see the potential of cypto currency in a test-net like environment but with real consequences.

I realize now that looking back on it I learned some very valuable lessons from this "valueless" coin. At the time it hurt when I lost my private keys during a wallet update or mistyped a public key losing fifty-thousand or so PND (pocket change). I see now the lessons I learned were priceless and there really is something to be said about learning the hard way even if it is with just a few cents. I learned the basics and importance of holding your own keys by playing with software and paper wallets. I even played around with staking back in the day (2014 was a long time ago in Bitcoin time) kind of like what I plan on doing now.

stakingPND.jpg

So I'm going to causally stake some PND in the background on my computer because I figure not many people still hold PND therefore the difficulty shouldn't be too high and I might actually be able to earn some staking rewards??? I do think the price of PandaCoin will increase one day if not just for meme'ing, P&D, or nostalgic purposes but I can't recommend anyone buy it as it is out dated and there are much better coins you can buy to stake with.

Currently I've bought a bunch of "cheap" coins and like I said I am staking them part time in the background since I don't run my computer 24/7. I moved the coins from cryptopia.co.nz to my pandacoin wallet which is now apparently called the Digital PandaBank? and found out after a quick Google search I have to let them "mature" in the wallet for 8 or so hours before they can start staking. So I left the computer on and went to bed. The next morning my wallet showed it was staking and I could expect my first reward in approximately 13 days. I will report back here with a comment on my first staking reward and possibly another post if anyone reads this one. :)

-dp1011

Sort:  

Congratulations @dp1011! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!