I got my revenge on the rock throwing kids | Kiting in strong winds at Torrey Pines Glider-port

The truth is the army that has the higher ground normally wins. Looks like I am going to win this one.

Screen Shot 2018-02-26 at 7.18.54 AM.png

I wasn't feeling good, so I wasn't going to go to the mountains.

Screen Shot 2018-02-26 at 7.18.16 AM.png

Plus I had to talk care of a few things at AAA.

Screen Shot 2018-02-26 at 7.18.27 AM.png

My son and I went to Torrey Pines because its close to the house.

Screen Shot 2018-02-26 at 7.19.54 AM.png

The winds were going to be strong today. So this was going to be a good day for me to get some ground handling in.

Screen Shot 2018-02-26 at 7.20.02 AM.png

I was able to work on a few things over the water too.

Screen Shot 2018-02-26 at 7.20.11 AM.png

At this point I was almost to the end of the Torrey Pines Reserve.

Screen Shot 2018-02-26 at 7.21.27 AM.png

My ground speed was low because of how strong the wind was blowing.

Screen Shot 2018-02-26 at 7.21.33 AM.png

I wish I had a better camera with me. I think someone was flying one of these.

Screen Shot 2018-02-26 at 7.21.45 AM.png

Took the coast all the way to the Blacks Beach Pier.

Screen Shot 2018-02-26 at 7.22.08 AM.png

It was pretty epic to fly that high over that far.

Screen Shot 2018-02-26 at 7.22.27 AM.png

I had to be careful tho because the wind was going to be in my face on the way back, and there was a chance that I could get stuck.

Screen Shot 2018-02-26 at 7.23.27 AM.png

My son called me on the phone but I missed the call. He was playing around on launch.

Screen Shot 2018-02-26 at 7.23.42 AM.png

I did big ears so he could see where I was.

Screen Shot 2018-02-26 at 7.24.03 AM.png

After doing some maneuvers and having my hands full on landing, I decided to come in an use the restroom.

Screen Shot 2018-02-26 at 7.24.10 AM.png

I was bundled up for the most part but it was 50F so I was starting to get cold.

Screen Shot 2018-02-26 at 7.24.17 AM.png

In the end, it was good to kite in strong winds again.

Screen Shot 2018-02-26 at 7.24.52 AM.png

We were both ready for the Jeep heater.

###See video Below

If you are interested in supporting the show and would like extra privileges and access to exclusive content, consider making a contribution to the show Here


Don't forget to follow if you like what you see.

Sort:  

So where were the kids throwing rocks??? I wanted to hear a good revenge story! 😆

Just looking at those pictures gives me the willies!!! I am not a person who likes heights in the first place, especially when all that's holding you up is a piece of cloth and some string!!!

You have to see this post to understand video. LOL Thanks for stopping by my friend!

I have to get on my hands and knees when approaching the edge of a long-drop but when I'm hooked into the P.G. harness all the fears go and I happily step off into the blue :)

Hey, Cap'n!

I really, really enjoyed this video. Thanks.

I've been to the Torrey Pines glider port so many times, but this was the first time I've been able to see it all from a pilot's perspective, from the air. It is really, truly cool. You are really living the dream, man. You're blessed!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Epic flight there Mr Capt Sir :)
I only ever big ear'd once post training and that was because I was stuck in hover mode, 20 feet above a sloped landing field (strong and lifty air). I should have enjoyed it and hovered for hours but I was panicking as I was still wet behind the ears (pardon the pun). It worked though ;)

I used to live in San Diego and your photos take me back, although I never saw it from that angle.

Did you know that @mariannewest is organizing a meetup of SD steemers for this Sunday? Maybe you can have a chance to go. I will be watching from afar :)

Great info! Thanks! I will look into it.

This photography is really amazing. This is the dream of my life and parachuted to travel to the sky.

Thanks for stopping by. If you want to fly, set your mind to it. Anything is possible.

Come to California and I'll take you up too ;)

I wanted to make sure that you see this. I know that you organized a meetup here before and maybe you have more names? I tried to list everyone I could think of :) Looking forward to meeting you!!

https://steemit.com/sandiegomeetup/@mariannewest/san-diego-steemit-meetup-march-4-2018