Met a famous Instagram-er | Became a test subject for a bunch of pilots | Dry run at Torrey Pines Gliderport

in #paragliding6 years ago (edited)

Its no wonder why this guy has almost a million followers. Travis Burke photography has some of the coolest photos I have ever seen.

See link below if you want to check out Travis's photos. The photos are so amazing that if I tried to post them on here, I would instantly get flagged for plagiarism.

Link

I also put a quick montage of his photography in my video. You will love it!

Screen Shot 2018-04-23 at 7.14.39 AM.png

The day started off looking like it was going to be big.

Tony and I had discussions on how we were going to do this big cross county flight from Blossom, and there were groups of people that were going to go fly the east wind at Laguna.

Everything changed tho when I got a call from Tony first thing in the morning saying that everyone was going to fly at Palomar. I get it. On paper it looked like it was going to be a boomer.

The only problem that I could see was that I had 10 different things to do before 11am and there was no way I was going to make it to the site before it got blown out.

I settled and got all my work done, and just went to Torrey Pines. This was the safe play anyways.

Turned out to be a little too safe tho...If I would have launched, I would have been on the beach in about 2 minutes.

Screen Shot 2018-04-23 at 7.14.57 AM.png

After standing there assessing the wind, I made the call to go to Little Black. (The site is a 10 minute drive from Torrey)

Screen Shot 2018-04-23 at 7.15.04 AM.png

If you watch any of my previous videos, you will find this site familiar as this is the site were I learned almost everything I know about flying.

Screen Shot 2018-04-23 at 7.15.25 AM.png

I forgot to mention that Max Marian was instructing a bunch of students at Torrey and decided to take them to Little Black for some mountain flying.

Screen Shot 2018-04-23 at 7.15.42 AM.png

One of the students that Max is working with is Travis Burke. He is a professional photographer.

I didn't really know how amazing until I got home and checked out his work.

Screen Shot 2018-04-23 at 7.16.55 AM.png

I launched first today. The guy who launches first is called "The wind dummy".

I knew that it was going to be good, and that the thermals were going to be turned off soon because of the over cast that was rolling in. The same clouds turned off Torrey Pines.

Screen Shot 2018-04-23 at 7.18.28 AM.png

A quick check of my wing and set up, and we were in the air.

Screen Shot 2018-04-23 at 7.19.30 AM.png

It didn't talk long for the lift to take me above launch.

It was a little intimidating having all the students watching me fly.

For about the first five minutes I was all alone in the air and it was nice.

Screen Shot 2018-04-23 at 7.20.05 AM.png

One at a time these guys started launching, and before I knew it the skies were filling up with pilots.

Right about that time the wind shut off and I was heading to the bail out.

The goal is to land on the circle.

Screen Shot 2018-04-23 at 7.20.58 AM.png

I was very close, but I came up about 5 feet short. Good try i guess.

This was my favorite part of the day. I was literally approached by 5 different pilots who watch my channel and have subscribed. David, Collin, Will, Chad, and another guy named Robert. I was so excited to have people come up to me and tell me they watch my videos. It makes it all worth it for moments like that. Super fun!

Screen Shot 2018-04-23 at 7.21.15 AM.png

Check out www.paraglidingtalk.com if you are interested in flying. Or if you want to learn about what the sport is all about.

Don't forget to follow and subscribe if you like what you see. Have a great day! See you in the air.

https://smartsteem.com?r=captainobviou3

Sort:  

so cool! ive always wanted to try, and didnt realize I could do it so close to home, now! im in fallbrook. have you joined the @socalsteemit group?? there is a link to the discord channel at the end of my posts where you can connect and learn about meet ups we have in the SD and LA areas. hope youll join us in growing the Socal Steemit community!!

Thanks for the heads up @madpotters. I didn't know about @socalsteemit. I will definitely check you guys out. I was thinking about having a little meet up at the Torrey Pines glider port. I will follow for sure.

yes, come join us! we've had some awesome meet ups so far, and keep me posted on the Torrey Pines one. :D

The flight is very fun. thanks for sharing photos & video. carry on

Thanks for stopping by. Have a great day.