You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Am I Overthinking About My Autistic Son’s Future?

in #parenting6 years ago

Hey, I'm a father of 4 boys, 3 of them are autistic. They're 10, 8 and 7. My youngest, the 4yr old is a normal bright young boy. It's easy to feel depressed but I need to do my absolute best in taking care of them and prepare them as much for adulthood. But I think the most important thing is figuring out how to create a good society for them to grow up in. Other disabilities are easily recognizable, but with autism you need to give that someone a good second look. It's obvious that awareness level in this country is utterly low. But organizations out there like NASOM are always in deficit due to lack of support and donations. Which had lead them to close down 3 centers early 3rd quarter this year. I wonder how the working parents are going to keep up without those day care / therapy centers. I did try to help them by taking them to a major corporate for CSR funds, but was turned down. I wish there are other ways I can help, but with 3 autistic young boys to look after, all I can offer is my sympathy and prayers to all other autistic person and parents as well. The emotional burden is of another level. Thinking about the inevitable future of my sons is just unbearable. Staying positive is a real challenge. there is no other option but to care and love them as long as I'm alive for them, and there's really no control of what's gonna happen to them after both me and my wife is no longer around.

Sort:  

My heart goes out to you and your family. Coping with one autistic son is tough enough and I can't imagine how difficult it is to cope with 3. We do what we can and leave the rest to God

Posted using Partiko Android