My Mama Must Have List!!

in #parenting7 years ago

Dive Diva
Telling it like it is
July 6th, 2017

image
For mothers to be and mamas who have already welcomed their little ones into the world, I'd like to share a list of my mama must haves. These are products I've used and for some of them, continue to use as my little one grows. So, without further ado, let's get to it.
First up, if you're still waiting to welcome your little one into the world GET A MATERNITY PILLOW!!! This was the only way I could get comfortable while I was pregnant. It really helped to add cushion to my growing belly without putting pressure on my baby. Once she was born, I could use it to aid in breastfeeding, sitting up in bed while watching tv or reading a book. She's now 16 months old and I use it when my little one sleeps with me for her naps as a bumper to keep her from rolling off the bed or couch, depending where she decides to nap. It's also a great body pillow that my husband and I fight over at night LOL! There's tons of different designs of maternity pillows, so be sure to take your time and choose one that will fit your needs and be the most comfortable for you. This is the pillow I have now and I'm so addicted to it!
image
This next item was my absolute MUST HAVE as a new mama. If you haven't already heard of the Owlet baby monitor, then I highly suggest you do some research! This isn't just any baby monitor. The Owlet has a sock that is to be worn on the left foot while your baby is asleep. Inside the sock is a sensor that tracks your baby's vital signs. The Owlet system can be downloaded to your smartphone so you can monitor you baby in real time and even see when your baby is moving in their sleep. At first glance it might look intimidating, but I promise, this is the easiest system to set up. Many babies have been saved from SIDS simply because the monitor is so sensitive and will alert LOUDLY if your baby's vitals get too low, even for a split second. While it doesn't have a camera feature with this system, I can honestly say that I couldn't go to sleep until my baby had her Owlet sock on for the night.
image
image
image
image
Because the Owlet monitor doesn't have a camera feature, I also have a camera monitor from Vtech to give me that added security and piece of mind of being able to see my little one while she sleeps. It has a great wide angle lense, clear night vision picture, if needed I can use the monitor to talk to my baby through her camera until I get in the room, has the ability to add multiple cameras, and shows the temperature in her room as well. Call me an over protective mama, but there's nothing wrong with protecting my most precious possession. That said, I'm a huge advocate for baby monitors and this paired with the Owlet monitor is a great way to keep you little one safe.
image
image
image
Next, I LOVED these swaddle blankets. The blankets are designed to take the guess work out of where to fold and the velcro stays secure while in use. These blankets keep babies warm and give the sense of familiar security of being wrapped in the womb. My little one slept so much better when I started swaddling her, giving me a chance to catch up on so much needed sleep. The fabric is breathable to keep babies from over heating, so extra blankets are not needed. If you choose to try this method, don't wrap babies too tight and be sure to STOP swaddling when your baby begins to try and roll over. If you have questions or concerns, be sure to talk with your child's pediatrician.
image
image
The car seat canopy cover was AMAZING! When out in public, it was a great way to give my little one privacy and a dark cozy place while she napped in her car seat. It's also a great way to keep some handsy strangers from touching a newborn without your permission. Many of these double as a breastfeeding cover which for me was perfect. Most are super soft and now that my baby has out grown the need for a canopy cover, she now uses it as a soft comfy blanket to curl up with.
image
image
Diaper bags are cute, but I quickly found that I was swapping out the cute for the more practical. I soon ditched the bulky diaper bag and opted for this awesome multi function miracle. It's a diaper bag, changing pad with a built in pillow for baby's head, storage for wipes, cream, and diapers, has a zipper to store extra baby clothes, and bag zips apart for added convenience if needed. I take this thing EVERYWHERE I go! There's also a handle that snaps, so it's easy to clip to a grocery cart or stroller.
image
image
image
Something that's great to add to any diaper bag, is a disposable diaper bag clip. Now at first glance I know these look like a poop bag that you would normally attach to a dog leash and that's exactly what it is, for your baby. There may be times you don't have anywhere to throw a diaper away, so this is a great option for keeping that stinky diaper smell under control until you can find a trash can. And if this is your first baby, be prepared for the major diaper blowout! Yup that's right, sometimes babies poop will find a way out of a seemingly well fastened diaper and destroy their once clean clothes. And if you have my luck, this will most likely happen while out in public. So these little diaper bags are also a great way to bag up the soiled clothes until you can get them home to wash. With that said, it's ALWAYS a great idea to pack a pair or two of extra baby clothes...just incase! And while you're at it, don't forget to pack an extra shirt for yourself as well. I found all this out the hard way LOL!
image
image
A sngli baby carrier is also on my list! Once I was healed up from my emergency c-section, this was a great way to get out and exercise with my baby. I own this particular carrier and it has four carry options for you and your baby. As a new born you can carry the baby facing you with the head being completely supported. As baby grows you can then choose to have your child facing out. The head rest that was used while baby was facing you can now be folded down and snapped into place and has a drool catch cloth. You can also have your child facing you again with the head rest folded down to allow more vision and head movement. And the fourth position is for a child strong enough to sit up on their own, in which you carry your child like a backpack. I haven't tried that carry position because my daughter prefers to see everything infront of her. I never liked the way slings felt and neither did my daughter, but this was a great alternative for the both of us.
image
As my little one started teething, this next must have was a great solution to help her ease her pain. While she never took to a bottle or a traditional pacifier, she loved these teething pacifiers. The mouth piece is like a mouth guard. You just add your choice of teething ointment to both the top and bottom of the mouth piece. Once in your baby's mouth, they bite down and the ointment is evenly distributed along the gums. The best part, the entire thing, every inch is a super soft BPA free, silicon material. My daughter would chew on the mouth piece once or twice then she'd chew on every part of the pacifier. It also comes with a plastic mouth piece cover to keep it clean while in a diaper bag or between uses.
image
image
image
image
This next item kinda goes with the last. I invested in teething necklaces to save my nice jewelry. We all know babies love to pull, yank, and chew on our jewelry resulting in broken necklaces and possible choking hazards. These teething necklaces worn by the mom, are not only built to last, but come in tons of colors and designs making it easy to still look nice while giving your little one a safe outlet while in the teething stage. There's also teething bracelets for moms to mix and match. Again, a huge hit with my daughter!
image
image
image
image
image
image
When I take my little one shopping or out to a restaurant, I'm always sure to take my shopping cart cover. It fits over every type of shopping cart, keeps my daughter comfy while covering not only where she sits, but also the handle used to push the cart. Awesome for reducing the germs she and I are exposed to. It also fits over high chairs that restaurants provide, again giving my little one a comfy padded place to sit while creating a barrier to reduce the germs she's exposed to.
image
And lastly, for any parent that doesn't have a built in DVD player in their vehicle, consider this! It's a tablet holder that adjusts to also accommodate a smart phone. Currently my daughter is still rear facing while in the truck, so this is a perfect way for her to stay occupied with her favorite movies while on the road. And once she's big enough to be forward facing, I can move the holder to the seat infront of her. The velcro and tabs that secure the device hold extremely strong even over the roughest terrain and is my must have for road trips. It's also helped me to cut down on the cost of having a DVD player installed in my truck.
image
image
image
And there you have it, my mama must have list! Products you may have heard of and maybe some you haven't. Perhaps you've seen something here you'd like to try or even add to your baby shower registry. I truly hope my experience with these products have helped to navigate this awesome thing we call parenthood so the stages in your little one's life are easier and more enjoyable for both you and your baby. My list of products that worked for me is advice that is strictly on a take it or leave it basis. Again, if you have any questions or concerns about anything on my must have list I encourage you to discuss it with your child's pediatrician to help make the right choices that will best suit you and your little one.
If you've enjoyed this article please remember to upvote, repost, comment, and follow. Thanks so much for reading!

~Dive Diva

Sort:  

Wow!
This is an incredible list, well thought out and definitely worth having.
Im gonna resteem it so i can find it anytime i want.
Thank you.

I'm so happy you found value in what I had to share! Thanks again for reading!

You are welcome. Thanka for sharing.