Managing Kids Under Lock-Down, The Eastern Way, And The Western Way!

in #parenting4 years ago

image.png
[ Photo Credit ]

Having kids around is great!

But what if the kids were around the whole day, not being able to even go outside due to a lock-down which seems to be slowly turning indefinite, at least here in India.

At present that is my situation as my daughter is here with me, along with her two kids ages 9 and 7. And being used to live alone, sometimes they do get on my nerves (in a good way, I guess), but managing them has indeed become a chore which set me thinking.

I was brought up in the 'east' where methods of disciplining and managing kids are different from that of the 'west'. Though I did not use the methods that were used on me by my parents, on my daughter, I wonder how much has changed nowadays.

But the disciplining was totally physical! As a schoolboy in an archaic British School which tried to retain its character long after the British left India, I still remember getting caned. And it was a regular sight in my school at least. But today, you hear of no such 'capital' punishment because we now have the 'western' point of view.

Which is complex, to say the least, but I have no clue as to how effective that might be. Because here in the 'east' it seems the 'physical' disciplining has morphed into a form which I can only call 'psychic'.

I see more parents try and subdue their kids with a loud voice, and other who will try and look as stern as possible while he stares into his kids eyes, just to get them to listen.

But for most 'old-timers' here in the east, there always the tender whack!