Does your kid really know tech?

in #parenting7 years ago (edited)

Since you are reading this on steemit you are probably a bit more tech savvy than most.

I'm a computer nerd and have been for a very long time. I didn't grow up with an iPad or iPhone like my kids.

My love for computers came at a much later age and when I learned how to write code and how computers work I was hooked.

The kids today have all the technology at their fingertips and use it daily. It's a good thing because technology continues to explode and their future is no doubt filled with tech.

Unfortunately our kids only know how to use the apps and watch YouTube videos. What they need to be learning is how computers really work and how to program. Our education system is not quite up to speed with making this a reality until much later in their education.

Many of the jobs we know today will be gone when our kids are adults. What are you doing to prepare your children for it?

I'll tell you what i decided to do for mine. I'm going to teach her about programming or in other words how to communicate with computers in their own language.

Learning to program provides our kids an advantage that will help them navigate their future. The languages will change over the next decade, but the core skills of logic and programming concepts are invaluable.

My daughter is 10 and I started teaching her python. I bought a book on how to program python for kids and some free online lessons through http://www.codeacademy.com

Even though the book was targeted towards kids it was not the best way for her to learn.

I found the free lessons online were very easy to follow and understand. The only complaint is that they have some more advanced math concepts that she is not familiar with yet.

She just got started and is really enjoying it. I really like learning along with her and seeing her grow. I know this is a good investment for her future and something that she will look back and appreciate.

Think about your kids future and do something today about it.

If you don't know how to program it's ok. It's not as scary as it might sound. Learn along with them and enjoy it together.