Asleep and yet awake

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

The ground is firm under my toes, anchor, reminder,
A breeze soft on my chin, clothes a whisper on my skin.
I’m still and yet I fly.

Sweet darkness takes me under its wing,
A comforting weight, the world pushed away.
I’m afraid and yet free.

The monster under the bed knows my name, he asks me of my day,
The curtains twitch in a furtive dance, folds forming a familiar face.
I’m alone and yet besieged.

When my eyes finally close, fists clenched and knuckles white,
The darkness lets the dreams come though, bright, vivid.
I’m blind and yet I see.

Come now mermaids of silver tails, maidens of golden hair,
Knights of sharp, brave swords and dragons to take my breath away,
I’m still and yet I dance.

Time is slow and the world shifting fast,
A spell of delightful, agonizing visions,
I’m asleep and yet awake.

--Aqsa Muatafa

Posted using Partiko Android