Castle in the Clouds

in #partiko5 years ago

Image Source

When the vase broke and the window in the background shattered,

I felt a rumbling in the foundations of my world;

Like thunderclouds crashing over an ocean of pain,

I felt the waves rise high and dive down.

It was in my head, that picture I created,

That vision I held dear and cherished in the night,

Our lives were as brittle as a thin sheet of ice,

And with the first step, the ice broke.

I was standing at the edge of the road with my hair flying around my head,

My bags in my hand and an open door behind;

Home brightness spilled out and turned the wet cobblestones silver,

But your shadow never darkened the light.

I think of those times when we assembled these blocks,

When we put together our towers and turrets,

When the portcullis was strong and deep our moat,

When the castle walls were high and the enemy smote;

Our dreams were like rainbows with pots of gold,

Tantalizing plans and ideas bold,

Then the first wind came and the tower shingles fell,

You are I watched from the courtyard and didn’t help.

Now the keep has caved in and my crown lies in the dust,

A castle in the clouds has come to Earth,

It was one brick falling that started the end,

And both of us failed when we came to that bend.

--Aqsa Mustafa

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 2.28% upvote from us for your 510 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Awesome write-up again' @aqsamustafa. Keëp up the good work!

Congratulations, you have been upvoted and resteemed by @newbieresteemday!

newbieresteemday.png

Do you want to meet more people, get an answer to your questions and/orpromote your post? Join the Steem Terminal Discord server HERE.

Hi @aqsamustafa
It's been a while since you were active on the platform, so it seems.
I was wondering if you were still here.
In order to keep the Steem Power delegation, I ask for two things:

  • be active on the platform: publish a quality post regularly (at least once or twice a week should be doable) and engage with the community
  • power up your earnings instead of cashing them out.

Since it has been 11 days since your last post, and 12 days since your last comment, I will be retracting my delegation in a couple of days if I haven't heard from you by then. That way, the Steem Power doesn't stay unused, and I can use it to help out another newcomer.

I hope you're still around.

I am. It was the end of Ramadan and then Eid, so a hectic time for me ;)

Posted using Partiko Android