A-Level Art

in #partiko6 years ago (edited)

So I'm half a term into my A-Levels and luckily I'm enjoying them and not stressed yet!
In Art, I have chosen to do a theme of Human Form and Portraiture.
Here are just some bits of work I've been doing. My teacher is making us do skills in different medias to help build up our books!

The above piece was charcoal, pencil and eraser; I covered the page in charcoal and then created my shapes in pencils of different tones and then used the eraser to highlight specific areas. My model was two skulls, a sheep and a fake human skull set on top of a book in front of a log with chains on it.

This next piece was based off a piece I found on Pinterest in Oil paint. This piece took longer as I struggled with mixing the right tones but overall I liked this piece a lot.

This piece was again based off of a sketch I found on Pinterest. I used monoprinting to produce a black outline. The method is to first sketch or trace a drawing onto a piece of paper. Then spread out an even layer of black ink on a surface, which then you place a plain piece of paper onto, underneath the sketch you made. Ensuring you don't lean on it , you used a ballpoint pen to trace over the drawing or picture, which transfers onto the plain piece of paper.

The original image is again from Pinterest. I sketched it out with pencil, and then highlighted specific areas with wax. Then when I painted over it with watercolour, the wax stopped the paint wherever it was. At the end, I used oil pastels to highlight anything further.
I like this one a lot as last year in my GCSE, I stuck only to female models and only did one male sketch. So I was very happy about how this one turned out.

This piece is a sketch from an image set to me by my teacher as homework. I'm so happy that it turned out well because I struggle with drawing hands !

This last one is again a homework sketch, and was done in charcoal pencil. I'm also very happy with how it turned out.

Next, I am going to start drawing more human models to build up practice of the body.

Posted using Partiko Android