It Is Your Choice, So Why Not Have the Best of Both Worlds?

in #partiko5 years ago

Why Not Both?

I am a fan of extremes. I mean this in all senses. Sexually, psychologically, and in the mundane daily world... empirically. I have been known to partake in what they call, risky behaviors. I like to live on the edge and I am a creature that seeks constant comfort and/or pleasure.

With that in mind, there is no doubt that nudity and nakedness are things that I am a fan of. I have been questioned quite often about the prude side of my name though. When people ask me if they are ironic or am I trying to say something? Honestly, I just picked a name that seemed to sit for me and the things that I wanted to talk about. I knew that they were opposit spite, at sort of how my brain works.

A person can believe in opposing theories or ideas, at least seeing the other side even if they don't like it. Or can they?

We Are All the Same

What I was much younger, I tried to fit in. I went to great lengths to please other people and in doing so I spent a lot of time outside of my own comfort zone. If you do something long enough, eventually you will adopt it as your own thing. I used to think that this is how people were. I used to believe that we all kind of thought the same and each one of us for living a life filled with individual experiences but that everybody took the time to go outside of their own Box and check out another's.

But... I have also been told that it is crazy talk.

For example, if we didn't like a certain food as a child we had to at least try it. I lived with my parents from the time that I was 7 to 14. I was so concerned with my mother approving of me that I did all of the things that she liked even if I did not like them. I trained myself to enjoy liver and onions and to go birdwatching. When she was intrested in breeding dogs and training them for both show and activities, I became super intrested in those areas as well. I ended up showing her dogs and I also did Schutzhund (police dog training).

Now don't get me wrong, as a young girl I had plenty of other things that I wanted to be part of. Even so, that is not how I am. Rather than focusing on music or dancing or make up or even boys, I worked hard to get my mother to like me.

Eventually I grew to like some of the things that she liked just by doing them and I realized probably at that time that you don't have to like something to eventually like something. Looking back, it definitely shaped my brain into one that is perfectly capable of seeing ends of a spectrum. Even if two Concepts seemed to cross cancel each other common I could find a common thread between them without having a cognitive dissonance.

Not the Same?

Understanding color opposites, for me isn't that hard. It takes a lot of practice, as it turns out. I didn't know that I was practicing though. I just naturally have a drive that makes me want to seek an understanding of these things out.

I went along in my life thinking that everybody thought this way until, well really until my thirties. It was in the last few years actually that I've started to see how differently people really do look at the world. My understanding as to wide world is both a very small and large place at the same time is much more clear. I don't think it's any wonder that we all can't see eye to eye. And the direction that each of us are looking we can see far and wide but to try to change that perspective is almost impossible until you actually do it and believe that it can be done.

Relative Constants

We are all on this rock together and yet you should us in our own way is make claims to it every day. There is no true distinction between the land under our feet as the Earth holds each one of us without natural boundaries. So we create these boundaries and we deny the existence of others perceptions. As we claim our own to be the only way to anything we are actively building bridges between ourselves and others that we want to distance from.

When you think about it, that's why it's a little depressing. There's an endless cycle and just as we begin to understand we realize without understanding how much we don't know. Whether we're looking back in history towards the great minds of humanity or to the common man, there isn't a whole lot new or innovative in our thoughts.

So in the , commonly when people tell me that I can't be a nudish prude... Whereas I used to argue or try to explain, now I just smile and hope that they get it sooner rather than later. There's no doubt my head that in this lifetime or the next, somewhere on their path they will figure out how opposite's aren't all that opposite at all.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

This is such a perfect read at 4 o clock in the morning, while so many projects and responsibilities are just starting to wake up and populate my semi consciousness!!! Will be back to ipvote when recharged, for now resteemed

Thank you very much :) the support is so welcome! I am glad you liked it! I just posted another as well.

Posted using Partiko Android