The Pastor Al Chronicles, March 20, 2018

Pastor Al: There are women in this congregation who've had abortions. If I call abortion “murder” from the pulpit, some of them are going to see themselves as murderers beyond all hope of forgiveness.

Abolitionist: But you and I both know murderers can be forgiven if they go to Christ in sincere repentance.

Pastor: We know it, but many of them don't.

Abolitionist: So preach on it. Preach on it lavishly. Preach the truth about abortion and preach how Christ's sacrifice is sufficient for all our sins, even murder.

Pastor: I just can't take the risk. Some of these folks are so fragile, I'm afraid this would put them over the edge.

Abolitionist: So you think the solution is to downplay the heinousness of abortion?

Pastor: No, I just think some things need to be dealt with in a more intimate, personal setting, maybe one-on-one with a female counselor.

Abolitionist: That may work for post-abortive women, but what about those who have not yet had an abortion but are, or soon may be, contemplating one?

Pastor: I just don't think it is something we can go full frontal on from the pulpit. Considering what may happen if I do – I just can't take the risk.

Abolitionist: You need to consider what will happen if you don't. Maintaining pulpit silence will insure that the mass-murder of innocent children goes on forever. By not preaching against abortion you're showing more compassion for the women and men killing their children than you are for the children being killed.

thunderoussilencepulpits.jpg