You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Patreon is CHANGING (for the better?)

in #patreon8 months ago

I created this information primarily for the gFam blog which aims to introduce Hive to a brand new audience. For that reason, I tried to distill all the information about Hive into something easily consumable and not overwhelming.

I actually thought about explaining the 7 day vote system, but decided against it because it might be too confusing... especially since most users on Hive are receiving small amounts of income most days. If you look at my wallet I'm receiving tiny amounts of Hive every day, despite posting irregularly. So, I left it out to refrain from confusing new people.

I definitely don't think I was lying with this omission, most users I know are posting every day, so they receive payments every day. This is not the case with Patreon.

If someone subscribes to your June 2022 guide, that's great... but how many people are subscribing monthly for one-off content? Patreon is introducing a tipping feature with its new changes, which I think will support this usecase a lot better.

Yes, the way dApps work on Hive at the moment is that everyone receives content for free, but upvotes also don't cost the audience anything except for the opportunity cost, so a creator providing content for free isn't negatively impacted.

On gFam.live, I mentioned that creators can provide gated-content which does require a tip to unlock, this is a cost to the audience who transfers their cryptocurrency from their wallet to the creators wallet in order to access the content.

I disagree with the user retention for Hive. You can see here the peaks and troughs:

and you can get more statistics and information here:
https://peakd.com/hive-133987/@arcange/hive-statistics-20231007-en

Again, I'd like to clarify, I didn't omit information to mislead my audience, but instead wanted to introduce Hive to new people without overwhelming them.