Look What I Found! Three Great Travel Posts

in #payitforward5 years ago (edited)

I’m Back in Town, and Back to Sharing Posts!

If you’ve been following my posts for a while you might remember the ones with the funnel I used for promoting posts I liked, posted by fellow steemians. Well, after being gone for a year, it’s time to dig out that funnel again (or rather use the one from my own kitchen) to highlight what others have posted! And, once again, it was a contest that got me to do it today rather than tomorrow. - Gotta love these contests!

This contest, created by @pifc, is wonderful since the only requirements are simply to make a curation-style post about two articles I want to share. Okay, an additional thing they asked is that the authors have a reputation of 55 or lower, which is nice, as it promotes newer bloggers. Oh yeah, and the post should have quality content, which is sort of obvious. Why else would I want to promote it? There are some cool prizes to win, and though today is the deadline, I’m sure there will be another contest like this, considering this is week 36. You can check it out, and then take a Look at What I Found:

Long Distance Bicycle Touring in Amazing Locations

Ever since my long bike trip I just completed (okay, I’ve linked it enough in my previous posts. Go visit my profile if you’re interested!) I have been super excited reading about other people’s bike journeys. Fortunately, a couple of fellow bike enthusiasts created #cyclefeed where these kind a stories abound. But even among those cool posts I find some gems that just stick out from the rest, like this one by @pushpedal:

Trip Status #11: Isfahan | 旅行信息#11: 伊斯法罕

This is the story of two dudes from New Zealand, who are cycling across Central Asia, writing in English and (I assume) in Mandarin, featuring beautiful photos and maps. At the moment they are in Iran, and in this post they tell us about the Caspian Sea, the citrus orchards they rode past, the generosity of the local people, and most excitingly, inspiring local Iranians to join them on their trip, if only for part of the way.

Unfortunately, they also mentioned a thieving cyclist (I never thought that this was possible), and the cold weather of the season. Yes, in the photos they posted you can see their warm jackets and quite a bit of snow. Having had only one night in sub-zero temperatures on my trip, and even that in the pleasantly dry climate of Southern California, I have a great respect for these guys! So please go ahead and visit @pushpedal's post, which is only the last one in an exciting series.

More Relaxed Travel With Beautiful Pictures

Some people don’t like to endure hard physical activity on their travels. Instead, they explore cultural and historical sites with their family, and take lovely photos in stunning locations. One of these types of posts is this one, by @leonarda:

Nehaj Fortress- amazing thing to see

In this post the author describes a trip to Nehaj castle in Senj, Croatia. For me the place rang a bell immediately, since it was an important fortification in the 16th century against the advances of the Ottoman Empire, and hence also significant in Hungarian history (which I grew up learning). The name of the town, by the way, is Zengg in Hungarian.

One interesting thing the author mentions, is how the building material for the fort was collected from destroyed churches and monasteries nearby. While this may sound like tearing down one building in order to build another, what is more likely, is that those churches got destroyed during the ongoing conflict with the Ottoman Turks. In any case, @leonarda’s pictures are worth checking out, and a visit to Nehaj castle is definitely recommendable, if you’re in Croatia.

A Post That Didn’t Make the Cut … Still I Want to Mention It! 

So now that I’ve fulfilled the requirements for the contest, let me close with a bonus mention of honor. It’s a post written by @jelko, who’s also traveling in Croatia in his camper-van:

Paklenica National Park, Croatia

What I really liked about this post are the pictures! However, the accompanying text only has 173 words, which is 27 words short of the minimum requirement. The author could have easily gotten at least 200, by giving a bit of background to the tee-pees and the totem poles. What’s up with those in Croatia??? Okay, here’s my own interpretation: 

Due to it’s interesting geographical features, the site was selected for the filming of the Winnetou movies. Who is Winnetou, you ask? Written in the early 20th century by Karl May, a German who never set foot in America, this Western trilogy, favored by adolescent boys, was turned into motion pictures in the 1970’s. The place is still visited by Winnetou fans, which explains the weird mix of tents used by indigenous peoples mainly on the great plains with totem poles (typical for the Northwest US), in a story that is supposed to be set in Arizona, all in a European national park. Nevertheless, @jelko’s post is worth a look, as are his other travel posts.   

Stay Tuned for Next Time!

Okay, this much for right now. I hope you’ve enjoyed these links, and there will be more of this, now that I’m literally back OFF the saddle, at least for now. 

Please check out these great communities I'm contributing to: 


#ecotrain | What is EcoTrain | Discord Community

#cyclefeed | Introducing CycleFeed | Discord Community

Introducing SteemitDreamit | Discord Community

Sort:  

Thank you for featuring us in your post. Thanks for reading!

Posted using Partiko Android

It's my pleasure. And thank YOU for posting!

Congratulations @stortebeker! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 700 replies. Your next target is to reach 800 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!


giphy.gif


Thank you for your entry. Both of your bloggers have been upvoted and your entry for Curation Contest:Week 36 is confirmed.

Awesome! Thank you.