How NOT to Get SCAMMED on PayPal and eBay

in #paypal6 years ago

While I normally post about aftermarket cars and anything car related, I have to share an experience that happened to me earlier this week.

So I get a message on my eBay account and this guy says that he is interested in buying my items that I had up for sale. He told me that he was ready to pay for it right now and to give him my PayPal address.

I gave it to him, first mistake. About 30 minutes later I get an email from what it appears to be PayPal saying that X amount of dollars is pending and I need to give them the tracking no. Keep in mind this guy was very adamant about how he was honest and how he likes treating others the way he would like to be treated. Red flag. I get the item shipped off and it arrives. I am looking for my money in my account but there is nothing. I take a closer look at the email from "PayPal" and it turns out it isn't PayPal at all. It was from [email protected]. If you see an email from them IT'S 100000% FAKE!!!!! I have since then been trying to get my items back to no avail. I threatened him with legal action and police involvement:

3 Takeaways:

  1. Do NOT go outside of eBay when selling items. It is protected and you will get your money back if the buyer is dishonest and attempts to scam you.

  2. Emails from [email protected] is FAKE.

  3. DO NOT take people's words seriously. People who say they are honest may indeed be scamming you!!