Only use PayPal when starting out. Avoid the other payment processors!

in #paypal7 years ago

Recently I set up a website for a niche I was trying to crack in to, and I was shocked at the outcome. Normally I only use PayPal for my new websites, but I was getting a good amount of potential buyers that couldn't purchase unless they had another way. So of course I obliged and set up a payment gateway using Chase Paymentech and Authorize.net so those potential buyers could purchase from us.

Now the reason people all over the world can't use PayPal is because they simply don't have access to it. Sometimes they can access it, but they can't withdraw to their bank accounts, so they don't use it at all. But what I've noticed now is that PayPal avoids a good amount of countries where online fraud is just as common as eating dinner. People in these countries will purchase a product online knowing they are going to file a charge back as soon as they get the product or service. It's actually pretty sad when it happens, but it's devastating when it happens on big ticket items. Luckily I was not selling my normal $500+ services, I was just testing the waters of this niche and selling $10 to $20 items.

Of course I'm using tracking for everything so that I know what is happening at all times, and I noticed a common trend. I was consistently getting charge backs from specific countries that couldn't access PayPal. Is it just a coincidence that one person did the charge back right after the sale? It could have been, but it's not a coincidence when 36 people from the same country file charge backs soon after they get their work completed. Now some of you are saying "It was probably the same person making all the orders" but thieves like this aren't that tricky. They're not going to have 36 different stolen credit cards and have 36 different IP addresses to purchase for 36 different domains lol.

Needless to say, I'm removing the credit card payment option so that people that intend on purchasing and filing a charge back will be pushed away when they see that PayPal is my only payment option.

Has this happened to anyone else here ?

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://www.seoclerk.com/faq/24019/Only-use-PayPal-when-starting-out-Avoid-the-other-payment-processors

Congratulations @ankurlad! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!