You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rejecting Mainstream Parenting

Hmm I think the thing I loved most about it was that I got to spend more time with my family and that I got to be in charge of what I learned. I got to read/watch/learn all sorts of really awesome things that I wouldn't normally have gotten to do.

I think it's really cool that you did this. Honestly, I'm a bit worried how my own kids will turn out (when they do!), because obviously I want to unschool them from the get go, but you never know how things turn out, do ya?
<3 Glad to have met you too.

Sort:  

It’s a gift to be able to realize/dive into your interests. I think that’s why talents are called gifts ~ not everyone gets to do what they’re naturally good at or interested in though it’s typically temporary. I often wonder what could have happened for me in terms of a “career” if I had been allowed to pursue my individual interests from the beginning because I am now 28 and barely realizing my own passion in life (fiber stuff obviously 😊) because my daughter is only 9 and is so very aware of her love for singing, animals, sewing, DIY & all things “goth”/vampire/zombie that Im going to be incredibly surprised if she doesn’t become a professional creative one day. But who knows, she could just become a creative mama like myself and that would be so great too. You’re very wise ~ We never know what the future brings!