PeakD tools and views!

in #peakd4 years ago

If you're not using PeakD yet, then you definitely should give it a try. There's so many things about it that make my Hive-life much easier, especially when it comes to curation - for instance being able to check who the voters on a post are without opening the post which saves a lot of my time when we've gone through the OCD community with the @ocd account and are adding some extra votes with my account or @ocdb to get the deserving posts closer to where the tax curve diminishes. That was a long sentence! But also just one of many examples which I like about PeakD. Now I'm not saying hive.blog isn't good too, I often find myself going back to it for the simplicity or maybe it's just old habits that don't want to die off, as a matter of fact I'm using hive.blog right now! Look!

Thumbnailception! Oh and I just noticed I was about to post this in the wrong community, woops!

Anyway, I was surprised there were some users I was talking to today and some from a few days ago who were not aware of a couple features of PeakD so I just wanted to highlight them to my followers. One of them is tools which has some cool stats for those of you who miss steemworld.org. Anyway here's some of their stats they offer for your accounts! This one is taken from the @ocd account which I'm logged in on PeakD with at the moment (oh and also for switching from account to account PeakD is amazing).

Can you tell when Hive was created on the right window? :D (they also have author rewards but wouldn't have fit in the screenshot as nicely)

Incoming and outgoing votes!

Then there's posts&replies + comments. Everything you need and when you want to check further back in time for the total you just click on "load more data".

Now here's the part that really sets it apart from any other front-end and hasn't existed on Hive in a long time! VIEWS!

I went back to my account for these stats as they're a bit higher in numbers. ;p

So some things to note about views is that it of course only counts those viewed through PeakD. Note that it also tells you how many views your wallet has gotten. ;) One thing that's important here though is that only you can check the viewcounter, I can't go and look at your stats for instance. At one point we wanted to evolve #posh to include viewcounts and give away some Hive on top of the extra curation for having shared the post on Twitter but without that being public it might become difficult and users would have to share a screenshot themselves which could be faked, etc, when there's coins to be earned.

Maybe in the future there will be more options, though, the sky is the limit! (not literally cause we're going for the moon, it's just a saying).

Anyway, were you aware of these features? Do you use them often?

If you don't use PeakD then what are you waiting for? ;)

Sort:  

I like peakd though I find myself only using it once in a while, but the wallet features are really cool, they come in handy.

Images aren't displaying on all ends. Ive been trying to make a post since last night, scared to do without images.

I should've checked before posting. :( wasn't loading in the preview but thought that uploading to imgur would do the trick.

https://hiveblocks.com/peakd/@acidyo/peakd-tools-and-views

if you open the links from here onto a new window you should be able to see them.

Okay would do. Happy Easter fam!

Just unlucky timing as the image servers were having trouble around the time of posting for peakd.com and hive.blog

Yeah thanks for the update.

Do you know how to read encrypted memos on Hive?

Here’s an oddity: when I get @ocdb delegation payments, when viewed from wallet.hive.blog there’s no memo at all but when viewed from the peakd.com wallet there’s an encrypted memo.

Years ago, for wallets viewed on Steemit you’d see your encrypted memos as clear text but those in other wallets as garbled/encrypted. That function seems to have gone away.

I know how to encrypt a message with a hashtag, but how to decrypt?

You have to log in with your memo key, yeah condenser used to make encrypted memos invisible (still does I bet) while steempeak didn't. So just login with your memo key once and you'll be able to see them again AFAIK.

Feel free to post these sorts of posts in our PeakD community if you desire. This is awesome.

One of the possible over looked tools is the ability to create list. I have a few different ones, and I add people every now and then, I am still building my list out. One of the list items I have is witness type, I add the witnesses that I run across from my feed and resteems, and community views.

  1. Now what is the purpose of a list?
  2. What good does it do me?
  3. It seems complicated.

For a curator the use of list and favorite authors could be a boon to them. You do not need to be following someone to add them to your list. If you are cruising the Hiveways of the all accounts and run into an account you want to check out in more detail before following just add them to a list. You can then surf the list you created just like the Following Feed, Community Feed, Favorite Feed, choices. Complicated it is not, just click the three dots after the re-blog symbol and choose add to list. A very handy tool, and you are the only one that can see your List, or you Favorite Authors, and you do not need to be officially following them, simply shadow follow them.

I am a real fan of the peakd interface.

Yeah, the hive.blog interface is A-OK, in my opinion. And PeakD is the bomb! I'm pretty new to both platforms, and I wasn't even aware of these positive features you've listed here. To me, PeakD is making major improvements from where Hive and Steemit currently stand.

Personally, the main benefits I see are in the abilities to create templates and schedule posts—streamlining, woohoo! And it feels illuminating to see who is upvoting, and the amount they're giving. Finally, a chance to really appreciate those who are appreciating us.

lol, this is gonna be difficult to understand without seeing the screenshots... xD

What's up with that by the way?

Tell me about it, literally.

I find hive.blog quicker to scroll through created posts but overall peakd is better.
Uploading images on hive.blog has not worked yet for me at all.

When you go to payouts for the next 7 days on peakd does that number include curation or not do you think?

Also what does #posh stand for?

Proof of share. I see people use the tag then put their link (usually to their tweet but I have seen facebook links too) in the comments.

Peakd is my favourite front end. There's also the fact that if you add some html codes to hive.blog, it'll give one annoying message about images being incomplete or some shit.

I use hive.blog or esteem because of their simplicity, plus esteem also gives esteem points that can be used for promotion or upvotes.

I recently found out about the views!

After looking at it (yikes) it made me consider whether or not I am creating content to be consumed, or upvoted? It makes me want to consider ways we can bring in eyeballs.

I hope we get the imaging thing figured out... I know they were working hard on it.

often find myself going back to it for the simplicity or maybe it's just old habits

Same here somehow I find myself typing in hive.blog faster than peakd. Though I'm making it an objective to correct myself every time, which seems to work

I am using PeakD more and more. I don't use all the features (yet),butnthe interface is great.

I foUnd PEAKD to be the best for creating posts and it really seems to put content creators and consumers front and center. But I still can't work out how to search by tags.

Search is something that is scheduled to be upgraded for the interface soon.

Yes you are right, peakd looks very interesting and very easy to use for android users. I've tried to enter hive with Android, but the image display is gone.

Lol, I got 1 real view on my ~1800 word Final Fantasy 7 Remake review according to the Peakd analytics. :D

peakd have always been my favourite frontend for a while now. it just makes everything look appering

Oh my god! I didn't know that we have the VIEW counter!
I am addicted to the twitter analytics and this is something I love to track.

Thanks for the info! 😊

I prety much only use peakd. Unfortunately that means i can’t search for anything ever for some reason, but it’s still worth it.

Did you say tax curve? Whats that about...

https://peakd.com/steem/@vandeberg/reward-curve-deep-dive

tl;dr if your post is making 20 hive post rewards it is subject for a tax cut which gradually becomes bigger the further it is from that post reward but ends there and above it there is no tax. This is mainly to disincentivize farming and self-voting so we try and get deserving posts above it so they don't miss rewards from the tax which in turn costs us a lot of voting power cause so many are posting in OCD and HiveGaming and it's hard to get them all there. :D

Wow. Thank you for that. I did read and I’m not sure how i feel about that. Surely there is a way to prevent the “bad actions” of those “bad actors” that doesn’t make it even harder for newbies than it already is?

Now I remember back to when this all was being hotly debated. Is there any current discussion about this?

Don't think so, there's been a lot of other hot topics and events going on lately to overshadow the EIP altogether, lol.

/acidyo

Now that I have heard this name PeakD several times and I find features on your screenshots that I have already searched in vain here on Hive.blog, I will probably try it out.

Nice post!