Chat is Working on PeakD!

in #peakd3 years ago

Screenshot from 2021-03-29 12-43-53-1.png

One day, I noticed a chat like icon on the top of PeakD between the notification bell and the post icon. At the time I noticed it it worked well enough for me to write a chat message.

PeakD-StatusBar.png

Today it is in total working order. I think this replaces discord for me. No logging in, no kaptcha, you login once to PeakD. It would be good if the chats would also work in other front-ends interfaces. So that someone on Leofinance.io could chat with someone on #ProofofBrain.

Fortunately, the chats don't go on the blockchain as far as I can tell. There is no signing for the chat like with posting. There is a rich markdown interface. There is no logging in because its within PeakD rather than Discord.

PeakD is bridging the gap between the features of the centralized social media with itself.

I am concerned that PeakD might become a central point of failure for chats though. It would be beneficial if we could see the same feature implemented in other Hive front-ends. I hope PeakD will make this possible.

I can think of some open protocol ideas already. Logins are often done by using a signed message or by providing the key. From the key you can create a signed message. So one site or app could request chat messages addressed to its users but the other would only allow it if signed messages from these users were provided. Chats within one site is better than nothing though.

Help lower the value of Hive dollar. This post is set to get rewards of 50/50 and I will dump my dollars.

Sort:  

A chat option? Wow, I have to personally check this out.

image.png

i sent a message on POB and it showed up in peakd interface - they are both using BeeChat

check the 'about' link ;)

Fortunately, the chats don't go on the blockchain as far as I can tell. There is no signing for the chat like with posting. There is a rich markdown interface. There is no logging in because its within PeakD rather than Discord.

PeakD is bridging the gap between the features of the centralized social media with itself.

Yes this is correct the chats are neither decentralized nor use the blockchain also are not encrypted. However THEY WORK!! And we wouldn't want chats on the blockchain anyway that's too messy.
Also chats for communities are going to be great.