You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ways to Help HIVE Moon

in #peakd3 years ago

@peakd @sanjeevm @steevc I'm pre-fork and coming from steemit and I know @pfunk told me about a big effort to fight spammers here so it didn't turn out like Steem. I do understand things being well intentioned but I believe that these efforts may be one reason why Hive isn't retaining users. And I get that the opposite approach is almost scarily dangerous because of spammers.

I just saw a silent comment that said farming detected. I'm assuming that means that because I promoted the post (and paid for it) that it looked like I bought votes. This is strange because why allow said services in the platform to pay for promotion at all?

My last few posts were about this. I would like to (in a happy world) onboard about 1000 users to start from another platform by adding my reflink to my next NFT distribution. I was thinking of building a community here. But I can't even get a hang of this myself. I've been massively downvoted TWICE this week out of 5 posts, murdered. None are abusive at all (unless you don't like my personal opinion. lol!)

Strongly feel that this is going to scare away new users. Is there not a whitelist program or verification program? Should not downvotes be manually audited?

I put 60+ minutes into this post and a lot of real thought. :(

Can't we make hive friendly?

Sort:  

I understand what you're saying but you got 20 cents of downvotes... and $10 of upvotes is it really worth all this? And a 4hive tip.

To anyone that is worried about downvotes I'd say turn off votes and focus on tips. Motivate people to tip on your stuff. Voting is a process where over a million accounts have full rights to vote UP and DOWN and they have 7 days to do it. So out of million+ accounts to expect no downvotes is maybe a very anxiety packed mindset to be in. On the other side... no one can "down tip" or "un tip" you.

Loading...

Screenshotting this and adding it to my post...

It looks like you were temporarily on the HiveWatchers list, but have been taken off now. The trail with hive-defender seems to have been a mistake. Shit happens, but I hope it is being resolved. Hivewatcher are approachable on their Discord, but it can get busy there as there really is still a lot of abuse. Some of us do what we can to deal with it to make Hive a good place.

What is allowed and what is considered good for Hive may not be the same. I have not looked into promoting posts on peakd and have no idea what benefit it gives.

Most people on Hive are friendly, but there is the freedom to be a troll that some will exploit. We do not have to conform to any whitelists, but I think the witnesses and others want to keep abuse at bay as much as possible.

You can verify yourself to Hivewatchers to avoid some issues. My own downvotes are all manual as they have impact.

I am hoping Hive can be better than Steem (which is getting worse from what I see), but it is up to us. It is technically complicated, but with tools like Keychain it gets easier. Bringing in 1000 people would make a massive difference and I hope they can be made welcome.

I cooperate with others on fighting abuse, but I act as an individual.

!ENGAGE 25

Thanks for the suggestion. I will get on that verify process immediately. I do see having a community here superior. Neither Communities nor SMTs were ready when last I was on Steem. So I'm SO EXCITED ABOUT THE POTENTIAL HERE. And see what Leo did with it, I am literally STOKED. But like... not if every other post gets demonetized by downvote bots. Not that I mind so much, but I know my userbase would feel like shit if I brought them into an uptight, overly judgmental or toxic environment. Many don't join medium and stay on Facebook simply because users there will flat out comment that your article sucks! LOL! (I know, I'm a writer for 3 publications on Medium too.)

I have big dreams that's all. I don't want special treatment. Just the ability to participate.

Back on Steem I never liked when folks promoted posts all the way up $500 and I would never do that here, but I definitely think it's valuable if I'm spending an hour on a post that I can boost it— after fees and the WAIT for rewards, they usually half. And then converting SBD to LEO or HIVE or Tips will run it down, etc. It's working for pennies, most of which I keep or put back into the system. I'm very much about staking- but I like to maximize my efforts but not be wasteful.

Anyhow, thank you for your help and advice.

People have to realise that with rewards at stake there will be abuse, but people should not cry over every tiny downvote. Some will choose to troll the system. What you have suffered this week is definitely not typical and seems to be an unintended effect of a script.

Buying votes is generally frown upon on Hive. There's a thing called Project Hope that was giving votes to their community if it got 50% of the post rewards, but the greater community did not like that and many were downvoted to remove the big vote.

Nobody is entitled to rewards here and they should be earned based on what the community thinks. That does not always happen as some big accounts automate their votes, but there are curation projects that use manual reviews.

There are no hard rules here, so you have to see what works for you without upsetting too many people.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Just seen the guy behind @keys-defender is going to apologise to those affected by this issue. Unforeseen events broke his script. At least some downvotes should get removed. This does not happen that often.

They should stick to "defending keys"... they should not meddle in anything else create a different account and be specific about it if they want to do other things.

Well that is up to them. Those who follow a downvote trail are giving up some control. I do not follow any trails that are out of my control.

yes i know.

image.png

  • @jarvie I did a month ago (@hive-defender) and that's the account that triggered the trails.

  • Please see my last post for more details

  • (it's not "they", I'm the only maintainer of the project)