Permaculture blog #1: Wofati Eco Building

One of the things I like to read up on is permaculture. As I live in Southern CA and the population is quite dense, I’m not able to truly be one that practices permaculture on a full time basis. I’m able to dabble in gardening on my balcony and help out friends where I can. If I had a backyard, I would be landscaping it to include swales for moisture and water capture as well as making a customized food forest that complements the growing zones where I live.

You’ve seen my desert succulents, moringa tree, and persimmon trees growing on my balcony from previous posts. By the way, the seed pod is growing nicely on the Moringa tree! It’s around 2 feet in length. Once it hits maturity, which is about 3 feet, I’ll be harvesting it and showing what the seeds look like in the pod. And, I will be attempting to germinate another tree or two for the future.

One of the Kickstarter campaigns I saw several years ago was started by Permies website founder, Paul Wheaton. He’s very big into permaculture and I followed him quite frequently on his website. I don’t frequent the site as often anymore due to family responsibilities and other focuses (can star wars be a focus?? hahahaha..). But, I digress. The Kickstarter campaign that Paul Wheaton ran was for a line of permaculture playing cards. The content of the cards was created by Paul Wheaton and the artistry was designed by Alexander Ojeda, Jr.

52547865048__71467CA9-DED0-4CE2-87C0-1A82D94E8ED4.JPG

IMG_6369.JPG

Images taken by my iPhone

If you wanted to get a pack of your own, you can reach out to Paul Wheaton’s richsoil.com site to see if you can grab a pack. His website is: https://richsoil.com/cards.jsp and should provide some instructions for buying some.

This permaculture blog series is going to focus on the content of each playing card. I’ll give a summary of the card, add some other information, and any personal experience I’ve had with the either the concept, the food, or whatever the card identifies. This should be fun and very informational for those who like the permaculture idea. The artistry by Alexander Ojeda, Jr. is also AMAZING. So, a definite plug for his artistry skills.

So, let’s begin the blog with the image above with the Ace of Hearts: Wofati’s.

A Wofati is an earthen made building that utilizes the environment and the natural surroundings as a home structure. The base structure of the Wofati can be be any typical, natural home frame you decide to build. What you then do is surround the structure with earth. Lots and lots of earth so that I resembles something like the following picture.

Screen Shot 2017-08-26 at 2.52.00 PM.png

Image retrieved from: richsoil.com/wofati.jsp

What is nice about wofati’s are that they provide a constant temperature within the structure. It’s cooler in the summer time and warmer in the winter time because the earth provides a tremendous insulation barrier.

My experience with a true Wofati is nonexistent. I’ve never stayed in one or visited one. But, I have been involved with making food cellars that rely on the earth to keep temperatures constant for food storage. But, I would assume you need a very strong frame when making this structure. You will have several feet of earth and soil on the top of the structure

One common example that might ring a bell to those can be the home of Bilbo Baggins from The Lord of the Rings films.

Screen Shot 2017-08-26 at 3.00.34 PM.png

Image retrieved from: i.ytimg.com/vi/N1icEHtgb3g/maxresdefault.jpg

The home looks fairly non descript from the outside, minus a door and some windows. But, the interior can be spacious and comfortable.

If you live on a property and have a desire to be in an earthen structure that is moderate in temperatures in all climates, this is worth to take a look at. This home is probably not suitable for most city environments. But, if you have a nice plot of land and want to take a try at this it looks to be fun. Next permaculture blog will focus on the 2 of Hearts from the permaculture playing cards.

IMG_6373.JPG

Image taken by my iphone.

Thanks for reading! If you like the post please provide an upvote. And if you want to see more content along these lines please follow. Again thank you for your time to read.

Sort:  

lovely picture, brother keep going....

great post brother, nice.
keep it @drstevegilbert. i follow you now, please follow me back.
visit my post if you like about cryptocurrency, and please help be upvote and resteem.
https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@wahyue/how-to-mine-litecoins-and-dogecoins-is-it-worth-your-time-to-mine-for-cryptocoins

There are so many aspects of your piece that appeals to me. I am in the process of selling my unit in Darwin, Australia, to be able to move to the Bundaberg area of Queensland, Australia. We intend to grow our own food and to build an underground house to escape the temperature changes.

I grew up eating food that my parents grew, now living far away from that aspect of life, I soon will return and work my but off for a number of years.

I also take Moringa capsules to help me get through the physical requirements of my job. I am able to get them from a grower in Northern Queensland. I have also seen a person selling a Moringa plant in Bundaberg, where we will be moving to.

8 ) infinity happiness

Thanks for the comment. Keep me posted on the moringa tree. It's an amazing superfood to help with nutrition. Just be careful of the growing zone. Freezing temperatures will kill the tree.

@miriamaendres great have a good day ahead thankyou

@drstevegilbert really very nice post best of luck have a good day ahead thankyou

Congratulations @drstevegilbert! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!