You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Book Review – My 12 Most Recommendable Permaculture Readings

I actually have a copy of Gaia's Garden, but it was a workshop that I attended on permaculture principles that really started making sense to me. The instructor was talking about thinking of your home (your life) in zones, circles radiating out from the center. The things that need your attention the most should be close, and so on from there. Now, you'd think that we'd all already understand that. It seems like common sense, but the way that my instructor explained it made me see that I wasn't doing that quite so well, neither in my garden areas nor in my life. It blew me away.

Sort:  

Oh, I know... there are so many new things to discover in every-day situations. Looking at the flow of things is one interesting way of learning of relationships: flow of people, flow of energy (including money), or very concretely, flow of hot / cold air, flow of water, where animals move, etc. Or repetitions, that is things occurring on a regular basis. Why? How? Alternatives? Are there any unclosed loops? Sure, all this sounds confusing in theory. Once you put them into practice, it's like: how come I've never noticed?