You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cold Climate Permaculture Plants: Hybrid Hazel

Great information on the hazelnut! I don’t know what variety they were, but we had an entire hedge row where I grew up. The hedge had hazelnuts and Concord grapes intertwined with them. Both incredibly delicious. My parents are both from New Brunswick near the Mirimichi river. Spent every summer up there growing up. Salmon and trout fishing! Beautiful!
Your description reminds me of one of my first cousins up there.
Any way! Enjoyed!

Sort:  

Interesting, my favorite grapes are concord grapes! Were the nuts a decent size or were they the small wild type?

Thanks for reading!

Concord grapes have that taste that makes me say mmmm, ever time, I would say the nuts were about 1/2 inch in diameter average.

Ok, probably American or beaked hazel then with the smaller nuts. Or did you mean the diameter of the shelled nut?

Diameter with the shell! Grapes and nuts. Can’t go wrong with that!