You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Holistic Church: An Idea Explored

I think this is the kind of idea that could change the way the world views "The Church". I grew up in a small, poverty-ridden town. In the church that I was raised in, people from around the community were always asking for donations of food and other items. The congregation would always do what it could; there just weren't enough resources to go around.

I strongly believe that it is "The Church's" job to provide for those who are in need, both spiritually/emotionally and physically/financially. Unfortunately, we as Christians have focused on the spiritual aspect and have neglected the physical needs of our fellow men and women. That is why we have such a strong need for a government welfare system here in the US.

This has been one of the most eye-opening posts that I've read in a long time. I agree with you 100%! If churches would adopt this sort of practice, it would be world-changing. Healing man while healing the land.

Sort:  

Earth care, people care, return of surplus. That's what permaculture is at it's core, and it's really what the church should be about too. I'm glad you enjoyed the post :)

Posted using Partiko Android