Perry Mason (1957-1966)

in #perrymason3 years ago

         Another one of my late night favorites back in my college broadcasting job was Perry Mason. This series starred Raymond Burr as the attorney against all odds. It very much falls under the murder mysteries category. Only this time, it's about a lawyer who also doubles as a detective in a very Phoenix Wright fashion. The series ran from 1957 to 1966 and each episode was about 52 minutes.


source

         I have never read the novels which the tv series based itself on. For those of you who are curious, the source material came from Erle Stanley Gardner, who was a lawyer by trade. He based Perry Mason on Earl Rogers, a legendary criminal defense attorney.

         People who know of this series should be familiar with its recurring characters. They include the private eye Paul Drake to Perry's secretary Della Street. Then, there are the frenemies like Lieutenant Tragg and District Attorney Hamilton Burger.

         The plot of Perry Mason follows the attorney, who take on hopeless cases for his clients. The cases often involve murder. Of which, his clients find themselves as the prime suspects. Unlike the greedy lawyer stereotype, Perry often don't charge people exorbitant fees. He cared about justice and he enjoyed difficult challenges.

         A typical episode would start with some introduction to the story's characters. Someone would die and the police get involved. Another person would get in trouble. The suspect would then contact Perry Mason for help. Then, Perry would conduct investigations with or without Paul Drakes. There would be interludes of court scenes throughout the episode. Finally, Perry unravels the mystery and evidence surrounding the case in court. The real culprit, usually in the room for some reason, confesses to the crime. A small segment of after the case follows and fill up the rest of the episode.

         In almost all cases, Perry's exploits, within legal bounds, were able to acquit his clients. There were few cases where Perry either couldn't defend his client or the evidence was inconclusive.

         The key thing, though, is that Perry's clients were all innocent to begin with. Circumstances framed them to be the potential culprits of murder. The show made it seem easy for innocent people to be charged with serious crimes. So, this isn't a show where the main character who had ambivalent morals doing what lawyers do best.

         Whether our judicial systems fall into this stereotype is beyond the scope of this post.


         This series had a cookie cutter plotline every episode. We learn very little about Perry Mason and his backstory. The reveal in the court is usually the highlight of each story arc. Of course, Perry wins almost every time.

         But, for a college student that used to work night shifts at the broadcasting station, it was a welcome treat. I may consider obtaining the novels in the future.

Sort:  

It would be hard to overestimate the popular impact of this show. You have to imagine a time when there weren't many programming options on television. Back then, NBC and CBS dominated the airwaves. There was no replay of missed shows, and summer was a wasteland of repeats. In my home, we weren't allowed to watch much TV, so it was a treat and the whole family (at least when we were very young) watched the shows together.

A trip down memory lane occasioned by your review :)

I was more surprised how much I liked it. It's such an old show.

Then again, I get the whole watching with family deal. I used to like to watch I Love Lucy with my grandparents when I was young. And that show is pretty ancient as well. lol

I have I Love Lucy tapes and my granddaughter watched them with me when she was younger. She loved them :))

I used to watch this with my parents, and found it to be a great show. The blend of lawyer/detective was cool, and the writing and performances were enjoyable.

Have you seen the 2020 remake? Any thoughts? It's gotten some praise, some hate, but either way... it's quite different than the original.

Image grabbed from fmovie.ist

I have not seen the 2020 remake.

I will have to get back to you on that.

All good! 👍

Funny, but I am actually watching episode of PERRY MASON, this very minute! It comes on twice each day on the ME-TV network! Great show, and I remember watching the original runs of the show as a child, as well! 😁

Haha! Time well spent.

I never watched Perry Mason, but I used to watch Matlock all the time when I was younger. Practically the same premise I would suppose. This is some classic stuff here though. Basically a wireframe for all of the lawyer shows that would come after it.

I haven’t looked up what today’s lawyer shows look like.

This series ended the year I was born, but just like many classic television shows; I watched the reruns for years. This is a MEGA CLASSIC! One of my late MOM's favorites as well. These are the shows that remind me of that quality time I spent with my mother watching these classics. Awesome Post @enforcer48

I didn't discover this until college.

Even then, it was limited to my immediate coworkers, etc. So, it was definitely something most of my friends didn't appreciate.

These older television shows are a real gas to some people who post on FB out of the blue "come in one adam 12", they are usually people who have no cable or the bargain cable package like my parents, I'll ask my mom what my step dad is doing and she'll say sitting in the living room watching Gunsmoke. A friend of mine who passed a way a bit ago used to invite me over and I'd always fall to sleep watching old western movies he'd play because he refused to pay the outrageous price for cable. It was a real fight to stay awake. Though I have to admit most tv bores me the last couple of years. I have no idea why it just does. Once in a blue moon I'll try and watch an old television show just to end up wondering how compared to today we even stayed focused on them. Like one of my favorites was McCloud, McMillian and Wife and of course Columbo....I think back then they called it the Sunday Night Mystery Movies or something of that nature. I'd never miss a one but now a days I'd be lucky to make it through them....except Columbo, he was always an interesting character.

The old school shows have their charms.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 56 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!LUV
2

Hi @enforcer48, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @pixresteemer. Holding 10 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM