ENGLISH IDIOMS: pull the plug on

in #persian6 years ago

pull the plug on

به پایان رساندن، تمام کردن، از دستگاه (تهویه‌ی مصنوعی) جدا کردن

(To discontinue; to end.)

He threatened that if I attempted to pull the plug on him, I would go down the drain with him.

او تهدید کرد که اگر تلاش کنم کار او را تمام کنم، من هم به همراه او شکست خواهم خورد.

مثال دیگر:

Their patient was in a coma for six months before they finally decided to pull the plug on him today.

بیمار آنها شش ماه در اغما بود تا آنکه امروز بالاخره تصمیم گرفتند دستگاه را از او جدا کنند.


This post is part of a series on English idioms for Persian speakers. You can find the other entries under the tag [ #idioms-tutorial ].

Sort:  

It's time to pull the plug on the all-knowing bureaucrats in Washington.

Nice idiomz sir...keep continue..and god bless you

good job mr kiani :)

Nice idioms. Keep it up.

thanks for sharing educational post. i allways like education. @ghasemkiani

nice idmos sir everytime u got some new idoms full of meanings!

I made my friend realized that if he dare pull the plug on me, he will not live to tell the story

He threatened that if I attempted to pull the plug on him, I would go down the drain with him.

If you keep pulling the plug on your dates with Him, he’s going to stop calling you.

He threatened to reveal our secret if I pull the plug on him

Nice post

Awesome idioms tutorial go ahead bro we are here your supporter @ghasemkiani

The government pulled the plug on the plan to build a nuclear power plant.

pull the plug on

  1. вытащить вилку из розетки.
  2. отключить систему жизнеобеспечения (у пациента в госпитале)
  3. прекратить поддержку, отказаться

Пример:

The cashier suddenly decided to pull the plug and is no longer working here.
Кассир внезапно решил отказаться от работы, и больше он здесь не работает.

Harry signed a living will making it possible to pull the plug on him without a court order.
Гарри подписал завещание, по которому его можно будет отключить от системы жизнеобеспечения без постановления суда.

The project was full of failures so the management pull the plug on it.

If I get too sick to function on my own , Please pull the plug and let me go in peace

I thought my internet connection was pull the plug on, but no it wasn't.

Assalamo alaikum . have a nice day

She pulled the plug on the vacuum cleaner because I couldn't hear what she was saying.

this is helpful post for us, i like this idioms-tutorial
i wait your next post dear......

Your writing is good all the time. The content you write is good. As you are there, we get a lot to learn.

What a wonderful idiom is this ! .i am glad to rejuvenate my mind with new knowledge today .thanks for helping us increase our horizon everyday, may God bless you with more insight to affect our life more in jesus name.

good idioms

I was utterly disappointed with my boss when he suddenly pull the plug on my project when he has already agreed to it last week.

1112.jpg

think for sharing this post..

Thanks for share idioms -tutorial..I like it.

thanks sir for the valuable post
your idiom tutorial is alltime good
carry on sir

helpfull post...thanks sir

You got a 0.96% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @ghasemkiani! Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

nice keep it up

This post has received gratitude of 0.82 % from @appreciator thanks to: @ghasemkiani.

hella agha @ghasemkiani
great Persian idiom , nice steming