FACT: No Amount Of Guilt Can Solve The Past And No Amount Of Anxiety Can Change The Future

in #personalgrowth6 years ago (edited)

YSM.png
How can you overcome your feelings of guilt?

Realize its futility.

No matter what you did, no amount of guilt is going to change it or make you a better person. You can feel an overwhelming, crippling amount of guilt for something and it still wouldn’t amount to anything good.

Move forward, improve, work on things that need working on. Guilt is one of the single most pointless feelings a rational mind can be wasting time on. At some point you will realize that you needed to experience the guilt/anxiety that you went through to acquire the necessary familiarity to use as reference point in any future event that may trigger those feelings again. You will remind yourself about it saying "these feelings are pointless, I overcame them once, I'm going to overcome them again." And your journey of consciousness over the triggering thoughts and feelings begin; knowing that they are not yours to start with. I HIGHLY recommend watching a video by Mooji called: "feelings are just visitors; don't identify." It changed my perspective about guilt, anxiety and grudges completely. I might write more in depth about self enquiry in a later post.

But for now, Id like to read your advice or practical experience in overcoming guilt or anxiety, please share it with this community in the comments believe.

With Love,
Your Superior Mind

Sort:  

I make half of my living as a musician/ artist. I worry about anything and everything, I never have enough money to save up a nest egg in case things go south and it's effected how I interact with people and view life on a daily basis. I found this book through other books like "how to win friends and influence people" and it has done wonders for my psyche. I downloaded the audio book and try to listen to it once every few months to put things into perspective for me.
The trick is trying to forgive yourself and denying yourself the urge to worry about things you have no control over. Easier said than done, but taking things at face value piece at a time seems to have helped me a lot.
What are your thoughts?
Take a listen to the audio book (even if it's just the first 20 minutes) and see if it helps any. It's done wonders for me.

I can completely resonate with you when you said ''taking things at face value.'' it has turned into one of my main principles in 2018, and I must admit so far so good. I've naturally distanced myself from certain frinedships, and I've also started to stop assuming things for what I wish they were. This has allowed me to be more factual-oriented than feelings oriented. Assuming and overthinking became dispensable, and I substitute it with faith and facts. That's all I need. Thank you so much for sharing your story and sharing the audiobook with me. I've never heard of this book in particular, and I'm hoping that it can confirm whether I am walking on the right path or whether I'm being too much of an extremist in terms of self-reliant. I appreciate my friend, I will keep you posted. Take care.

Sure! I hope this is helpful!

Thanks for your good posts, I followed you!