Meet Slappy the Prairie Dog

in #pets6 years ago

Allow me to introduce you to Slappy the Prairie Dog.

He's a North American black tail prairie dog (Cynomys ludovicianus) and is currently about six years old and four pounds.

I work sitting in a chair in front of my computer at home most of the day and as he has gotten older Slappy likes to get up, eat, then spend most of the day lounging in my lap or being carted around the house in the crook of my arm like a human infant. He really, really likes to spend quality time with his adopted 'Dad'.

It's important to remember prairie dogs are wild as in non-domesticated animals. When he was younger Slappy was quite feisty as his name indicates and I have several scars to show for it. That said prairie dogs are remarkably intelligent, have been demonstrated by biologists as having the most complex known animal language, and once we learn to communicate with them the bond can be most satisfying to both parties.

If I tell Slappy to hold some food he's eating out of my hand he'll grab and hold it. If I tell him I'm going to the store he'll run and hide, often until I get back. If I tell him it's bedtime he'll go to his bed and go to sleep. One thing I've learned is to never tell a prairie dog 'No!' because they get mad. That's how he got the name 'Slappy'. Communication is a two way street and to best honest the things I've taught him pale in comparison to the human tricks he's taught me.

While living with a prairie dog can sometimes be a mixed bag overall I've found them to be the most independent, intelligent, and loving pets possible despite having owned some remarkable dogs and cats too. Since they bond so deeply and can become depressed and unhealthy upon being passed around it is vital for any potential owner of a prairie dog to educate themselves as to proper diet, housing, care, and attention required. A search should reveal many dedicated groups on social media. They require a lot of time and attention - sometimes similar to having a child - but return manifold rewards. Slappy.jpg

Sort:  

slappy your are soo cute 😍😍