How I became a dog groomer

in #pets6 years ago

I have been a dog groomer going on just over 10 and a half years , I've also worked with animals for the past 18 years. Growing up I always knew that I wanted a career involving animals and for a long time I thought I wanted to become a vet. After ruling out vet because of the extensive schooling involved, I thought that maybe a vet tech would be a good choice. Unfortunately I don't think I could handle the things that a vet tech has to do on an everyday occurrence. When I turned 14 I started volunteering at my local Humane Society and worked there for about 2 years. After that I began working at a dog kennel. I really enjoyed working with the dogs and decided that grooming would be a good option for me. I live in Michigan and in the state of Michigan you are not required to have any sort of certification in order to be a dog groomer however when looking for a job, it's always better if you do have certification. Sure, I could have taught myself but that would have been extremely hard. I ended up finding a really nice grooming school that took eight months to complete and went and got my certification. I've been grooming now for several years and I'm even the manager of a salon now. Over the years I have mentored several people on the art of dog grooming and I genuinely love my occupation. I'm so happy that I'm able to do something that brings me joy each and every day. I never realized how labor-intensive the job of a dog groomer was until I became one. This job is not for the weak (i get peed on , pooped on, drooled on or anal glands sprayed on me on a daily basis,) at the end of the day it's worth it to see my customers smiling faces and a clean and happy dog leaving my salon. 💜🐶20180125_162829.jpg20180117_141429.jpg

Sort:  

I never realized just how awesome of a job dog grooming is. You get to see adorable dogs everyday and make them look even more adorable! How often do you have issues with dogs that just don’t want to be groomed?

It can sometimes be an issue but it's very surprising to see how much a little patience goes when working with a dog. For instance if I have a dog that's really scared or nervous I just make sure that I go really slow with them and give them breaks so they don't get too overwhelmed. I try to make sure that every dog that comes into my salon has a positive experience.

That is awesome! I love how you are insuring that even the dogs had a good experience there and aren’t traumatized!