You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Nominations for the Top3 Contest - November

in #phctop34 years ago

Ah! The good old Kate and Sydney! It's the only way I'll eat kidney... My mother used to make one occasionally. Those Easter biscuits - I'm sure I've eaten them, but they weren't called Easter biscuits, I don't think. But then again, I may have been so little it didn't matter. That said, I'm sure I've seen something similar on the shelves in South Africa. I shall have to look. I'll report back if I don't forget. Come to think of it, they look like currant biscuits. I'm sure there's a recipe in my mother's Good Housekeeping Recipe book. I'll look a little later... :D

I am so with you on the roast. My favourite is the lamb and mint sauce - it was on the menu last night. Along with onion sauce... I need to find a way of making Yorkshire pudding. I know people love it. Me, not so much. I don't know why. My mother always claimed she was never successful in making one. And perhaps she wasn't and that's why, when she did, I didn't like it.

Oh my word, that's a bit convoluted. Sorry....

Sort:  

I have to say, it wasn't steak and kidney, thank goodness, as I can't stand kidney, but mushrooms are one of my all time favourites. I'm surprised about the Yorkshire Puddings though, I find them quite easy to make, but it is all to do with the very hot fat and a very hot oven!

Very hot fat and a very hot oven, yes. And what fat, vegetable oil or dripping, now that is the question!